Seventeen to be inducted into Waite Athletic Hall of Fame

Staff Writer

As part of Morrison R. Waite High School’s 110th anniversary as an educational institution in East Toledo, 17 alumni will be inducted into the school’s Athletic Hall of Fame.
The inductees include athletes and coaches.
• Richard A. Wandtke (posthumous) – Football, class of 1944.
• Gary Burgess –Wrestling, class of 1963.
• Kenny Donley – Football, wrestling, class of 1973.
• Jay Boose – Wrestling, class of 1977.
• Angela Washington – Basketball, track, class of 1979.
• Catherine Hernandez –Volleyball, basketball, track, cheerleading, class of 1987.
• Kennie Joe Washington –Basketball, class of 1990.
• Jason Beyer –Basketball, class of 1992.
• Danielle A. Wheeler – Softball, volleyball, class of 2000.
• Rick Cannings – Football, wrestling, class of 2001.
• Mathew W. Yenrick – Golf, baseball, class of 2002.
• Shareese Ulis – Basketball, class of 2007.
• Thomas M. Duris II – Golf, wrestling, class of 2009.
• Natasha Howard – Basketball, class of 2010.
• Dylan Clifton Lorton – Baseball, class of 2012.
Distinguished coaches
• Russ Bless – Track, basketball, football.
• Fred Clement –Wrestling, cross country, football.
The Athletic Hall of Fame was established 51 years ago to recognize Waite High School alumni who have distinguished themselves in the field of athletics as an athlete, as a coach, or as an administrator. Since its inception in 1972, 180 recipients have been inducted.
Morrison R. Waite High School’s Athletic Hall of Fame Dinner and Induction will be held Wednesday, Nov. 1 at the Bayside Boardwalk Banquet Hall, 2759 Seaman Rd., Oregon. A social hour will begin the festivities at 5:30 p.m., dinner will be served at 6:30 p.m. and the Athletic Hall of Fame honorees will be inducted at 7:30 p.m. A $50 per person reservation is requested for the evening.
For reservations, donations and/or more information, contact David M. Yenrick, chairman, c/o Morrison R. Waite High School Alumni Association at 419-697-1949 or


The Press

The Press
1550 Woodville Road
Millbury, OH 43447

(419) 836-2221

Email Us

Facebook Twitter

Ohio News Media Association