Ottawa County: Most mayors unopposed in election

Press Staff Writer

In the Village of Genoa, incumbent mayor Brent Huston is being challenged in his bid to return to office by Ernesto Sanchez, making Huston the only village mayor in the western part of Ottawa County to face a challenge on Nov. 7. Huston was appointed to the office earlier this year.
Two incumbents on village council, Jacob Diebert and Ricky Price, are unopposed in their bids to return to office.
Elmore mayor Thomas Jackson faces no challengers in his race. Two incumbent council candidates, Zachary Floro and William Kiefer, are vying for two seats with Emily Howland-Feller.
In Clay Center, incumbent mayor Melvin Sprauer is unopposed and Christopher Sizemore is the only council candidate for two seats.
Incumbent mayor Quinton Babcock in Oak Harbor is also unopposed. There are two council candidates, incumbent Austin Short and Matthew Bodnar for two seats.
In Rocky Ridge, incumbent Sam Rose is the only council candidate and there is no candidate in the mayoral race.
Two non-incumbents in the Village of Marblehead, John Starcher and David Reed, are the only other candidates in an actual competitive village mayoral race in the county.

In Clay Township, incumbent trustee Michael Diekman is being challenged by Mitchell Hoyles for a seat on the board of trustees. Incumbent fiscal officer Victoria Johnson is unopposed.
In Harris Township, incumbent trustee Jerald Haar faces challenges from Donald Goldsby and Ronald Distel for a seat. Laura Hazel, the incumbent fiscal officer, is unopposed.
In Salem Township, Steven Wagner and Ryan Hetrick are vying for a trustee seat. Incumbent Aaron Avery is unopposed for the fiscal officer’s position.
Carroll Township trustee James Meek faces a challenge for his seat from Joshua Behnke. Fiscal officer Tina Biggert is unopposed.
In Benton Township, incumbent trustee William Belkofer has two challengers, Joseph Dusseau, II, and Valerie Winterfield.
There are no competitive races in Allen Township where incumbents, Ernest Cottrell, Jr., a trustee, and fiscal officer, Jennifer Witt, are unopposed.
In the Genoa school district, Thomas Cashen, Mark Morrison, and Benjamin Widmer are vying for two seats on the school board.
Two candidates in the Benton-Carroll-Salem district are in the race for two seats; incumbent Heather Dewitz and Aaron Avery.


The Press

The Press
1550 Woodville Road
Millbury, OH 43447

(419) 836-2221

Email Us

Facebook Twitter

Ohio News Media Association