Ken Schrader returns for racing at Toledo and Flat Rock speedways

Staff Writer

Former NASCAR Cup Series star Ken Schrader will return and drive in ARCA sanctioned races at Toledo Speedway Friday, May 12 and Flat Rock Speedway Saturday, May 13.
Schrader will start off his weekend at Toledo Speedway with the School Bus Figure 8 race. He says he is eager to get back in the bus again. “I’m coming back because I didn’t roll one over,” he said.
The following night, Schrader will be competing against Flat Rock’s best racers. It is yet to be determined what division Schrader will be racing in.
Schrader has raced in ARCA Menards Series competition at both Flat Rock and Toledo, winning five times at Toledo. He drove his first-ever School Bus Figure-8 race in 2021 at Toledo, starting last and passing every bus on the track to take the lead before his race ended in a crash. His second attempt in 2022 increased his enthusiasm for School Bus Figure-8 racing.
Schrader competed in 763 NASCAR Cup Series events from 1984- 2013, winning four races with 64 top-5 finishes and finished in the top-10 in Cup points eight times. He is one of the few drivers with wins in the Cup Series, the NASCAR Xfinity Series and the NASCAR Truck Series. In 84 ARCA Menards Series events, he has 18 wins.
On May 12, the night at Toledo begins 7 p.m., and will include the Central Avenue Truck Parts School Bus Figure 8 race, presented by All American Coach; Boat Figure 8; Safety Kleen ARCA Factory Stocks; Salenbien Excavating ARCA Late Model Sportsman and Flag Pole Race. (Rain date Friday, May 19 at 7 p.m.)
Spectator gates and ticket office open at 5 p.m. on race day.
Flat Rock begins at 4 p.m. on Saturday, May 13. The ARCA Moran Chevrolet Outlaw Super Late Models, DTS Drive Train Specialists Street Stocks and the R & M Recycling Figure-8’s will be in action. This will be the Racing Fan Club Day, as racing fan clubs from Michigan and Ohio converge on Flat Rock for all the racing action.
The front gates and ticket office open at 2 p.m. Night racing begins Saturday, May 20, with a 7 p.m. race time.
Tickets for the Toledo May 13 event are available online at and at the gate on race day.

Walleye announce
playoff roster
The Toledo Walleye have announced the players who will make up its 2023 Kelly Cup playoff roster.
The 20-man active roster is nearly identical to the roster of players who were a part of Toledo’s recent 18-game winning streak.
Goaltenders: Sebastian Cossa, John Lethemon.
Defensemen: Adrien Beraldo, Charlie Curti, Derek Daschke, Riley McCourt, Gordi Myer, Seth Barton, Donovan Sebrango, Eemil Viro.
Forwards: John Albert, Ryan Cox, Sam Craggs, Thomas Ebbing, Gordie Green, Brandon Hawkins, TJ Hensick, Conlan Keenan, Patrick McGrath, Brett McKenzie, Andrew Sturtz, Trenton Bliss, Kirill Tyutyayev, Drew Worrad.
“Determining a team’s final roster is always difficult, but I firmly believe the players selected will provide the depth and tenacity needed for a successful playoff run,” said head coach Dan Watson. “I can’t thank all the players who did not make our playoff roster enough for their contributions to the Walleye this year, and in some cases, previous seasons. They represented our team, organization and community extremely well, and I wish them nothing but the best in their future endeavors.”
Playoffs begin Friday, April 21 at the Huntington Center with the Walleye taking on the Indy Fuel. Learn more at


The Press

The Press
1550 Woodville Road
Millbury, OH 43447

(419) 836-2221

Email Us

Facebook Twitter

Ohio News Media Association