The Press Newspaper

Toledo, Ohio & Lake Erie

The Press Newspaper

The Press Newspaper


Terra, Owens welcome new presidents
Dr. Mike Bower became the sixth President and Chief Executive Officer of Owens Community College July 1.

Bower brings more than 17 years of experience in higher education, having served as a faculty member and administrator at institutions in North Dakota, Michigan, Wisconsin, Nebraska and Indiana. He also spent more than 19 years working in various leadership positions of business and industry with Ford Motor Co. and Thomson Consumer Electrics (formerly RCA) in Indiana and Ohio.

Since July 2008, he served as the president of Lake Region State College in Devils Lake, N.D. – a comprehensive community college within the North Dakota University System.

From 2004 to 2008, Bower served as Executive Dean for Extension Campuses/Continuing Education/Corporate Services at Mott Community College in Flint, Mich. His experience also includes serving as Campus Dean of Chippewa Falls at Chippewa Valley Technical College in Eau Clair, Wis. from 2001 to 2003 and in several academic leadership positions at Central Community College in Columbus, Neb. from 1997 to 2001.

Bower earned a doctorate in education administration, curriculum and instruction from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. The Maumee resident holds a master of business administration from Indiana Wesleyan University, a bachelor’s degree in industrial supervision from Indiana State University and an associate’s degree in automotive technology from Vincennes University.

Last year, the Owens Board of Trustees conducted a national search for a President and Chief Executive Officer to succeed Dr. Larry McDougle, who retired Sept. 30. John Satkowski, Vice President of Finance and Administration/Chief Financial Officer, served as the college’s Interim President since the beginning of October.

Webster commences duties
Dr. Jerome Webster began his duties as the sixth president of Terra State Community College July 2, succeeding Dr. Marsha S. Bordner, who retired June 30.

Members of the campus community lined the hallway to greet Webster as he reported for his first day. A small reception followed.

Webster served as the Vice President for Student and Administrative Affairs at Terra since August 2008.  He has a Bachelor of Arts degree in Business Administration with a concentration in human resources from Olivet College in Michigan. After working as a residence hall director and housing coordinator at Olivet, he briefly served as a human resources associate at Standard Federal Bank.

Webster returned to higher education when he accepted a position at the University of Toledo where he spent 10 years working in various positions in university housing. After completing his master’s degree in educational technology and human resources development, Webster entered the doctoral program in higher education administration at UT.

In January 2003, he accepted the position of Dean of Students at Lawrence Technological University in Southfield, Mich. Four years later, he accepted the position of Dean of Student Affairs with Cuyahoga Community College in Cleveland.

Webster is a member of Rotary Club International-Fremont Chapter, a board member of the Sandusky County American Red Cross, and a member of the development committee for the Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Center.

Portage River Festival winners
The annual Portage River Festival drew visitors from Elmore and beyond. The event, sponsored by the Elmore Historical Society and Materion Inc., included a number of contests and activities. Winners included:

5K Run/Walk: Overall Male – Keith Madaras, of Pemberville (17:56); Overall Female – Cindy Butler, of Elmore (21:37); Overall Male Master – Joe Baker, of Millbury (18:58); and Overall Female Master – Denise Dasher, of Temperance, Mich., (24:16).

Talent Show: Samantha Kurk, of Fremont, first place; Haley Klima, of Toledo, second place; and Jenn Tingley, of Elmore, third place.

Cupcake Contest: Youth: Harley Harris, of Elmore, Banana Split, first place;  Rylie Cutchall, of Elmore, Mint Chocolate Chip, retro first and second place for peanut butter;

Adults: Winnie Chasteen, of Elmore, Hootie The Owl, first place; Renee Thomas, of Elmore, Chocolate and Chili, second place; Tammy Reichert, of Elmore, Bacon, third place;

In the “Retro” category, winners were Tim Hepner, of Elmore, first place for Oreo Fix; Winnie Chasteen, of Elmore, second place for Strawberry Surprise and Barb Schaffer, of Elmore, third place for “Arnold Palmer.”

Redneck Lawnmower Pulling Contest: 12 to 14 horse power, Turf Tire Class – First place, Eugene Hasselbach, of Fremont; second place, Roy Hasselbach, of Fremont;

8 to 10 horse power – Turf Tire Class – First place, Abbi Riechman, of Oak Harbor; second place, Gabe Humbert, of Three Rivers, Mich.; third place, Andrew Schroeder, of Gibsonburg; 

5 to 8 horse power Cut Tire Class – First place AJ Jack, of Graytown; second place, Emma Frisch, of Elmore; third place, Corey Hutchinson, of Williston;

8 to 10 horsepower Cut Tire Class – First place, Rex Leaders, of Holgate; second place, Bill Dufendock, of Oak Harbor; third place, Allan Haar, of Elmore;

12 to 14 horse power – Cut Tire Class – First place, Rex Leaders, of Holgate; second place, Bill Recker, of Genoa; third place, Terry Leaders, of Oak Harbor;

14 to 16 horsepower – First place, Rex Leaders, of Holgate; second place, Terry Leaders, of Oak Harbor;

Unlimited Class – First place, Ross Burdge, of Curtice; second place, Rex Leaders, of Holgate, third place, Pat Gallogher, of Perrysburg.

Towne Club officers
Towne Club of Toledo held a meeting and installation of new officers June 7 at Carranor Hunt and Polo Club in Perrysburg.

Officers for 2012-13 include Sue Burkett of Waterville, president; Sue Seary of Toledo, first vice president; Janet Despoth of Holland, first vice president; Cynthia Holt of Toledo, second vice president; Sandy Ellsworth of Perrysburg, secretary; and Carol Deal of Oregon, treasurer.

The club has been raising funds throughout the past year and presented a $1,000 check and a four-passenger golf cart with a trailer to Camp Courageous. Steve Kiessling, camp manager, accepted the donation.

Camp Courageous was started by Marty Duncan and Ray DeFrane in 1963 to meet the needs of children with special needs.




Do you agree with the Supreme Court ruling that the Colorado baker did not have to prepare a cake for a gay wedding?
1981194200 [{"id":"259","title":"Yes","votes":"28","pct":59.57,"type":"x","order":"1","resources":[]},{"id":"260","title":"No","votes":"18","pct":38.3,"type":"x","order":"2","resources":[]},{"id":"261","title":"No opinion","votes":"1","pct":2.13,"type":"x","order":"3","resources":[]}] ["#194e84","#3b6b9c","#1f242a","#37414a","#60bb22","#f2babb"] sbar 160 160 /component/communitypolls/vote/96-baker No answer selected. Please try again. Thank you for your vote. Answers Votes ...