The Press Newspaper

Toledo, Ohio & Lake Erie

The Press Newspaper

The Press Newspaper


The Toledo Schwaben Verein, German American Festival Society, Inc has awarded $500 scholarships to twelve of the areas students.

The Schwaben Verein Scholarships were awarded to Melissa Patterson and Melissa Pfeifer at Bowling Green State University, Chris Pfouts at Owen Community College, Jessica Schwarzkopf at San Diego State University, Bryan Pfouts at the University of Toledo, and Shane Pfouts at Urbana University.The Herbert Drescher Scholarships were awarded  Tanya Langenderfer and Drew Schmalzried at Bowling Green State University, Patrick Lawrence and Jon Mueller at the University of Toledo, and Mark Mathe at Michigan Technological University.

The Maria Schmalzried Scholarship was awarded to Erica Schmalzried at the Ohio Station University. 

Golden Years Luncheon
The Waite High School Alumni will assemble for their “Golden Years Luncheon” on Tuesday, Sept. 9, 2008. This special event invites all the classes which have celebrated their fifty year reunion (1914-1958). It will be held at St.       

George’s Banquet Hall in Rossford. The price is $17.50 per person. The doors open at 11 a.m. and lunch will be served at 12:15 p.m.

For more information call Judy Lane Bee at 419-693-6114 or e-mail


flu shot

Did you get a flu shot?
1276280923 [{"id":"231","title":"Yes","votes":"4","pct":23.53,"type":"x","order":"1","resources":[]},{"id":"232","title":"No","votes":"13","pct":76.47,"type":"x","order":"2","resources":[]}] ["#194e84","#3b6b9c","#1f242a","#37414a","#60bb22","#f2babb"] sbar 160 160 /component/communitypolls/vote/86-flu-shot No answer selected. Please try again. Thank you for your vote. Answers Votes ...