Home Weekly Features People Landmarks featured in full-color cotton throw
Landmarks featured in full-color cotton throw
Written by Press Staff Writer   
Monday, 07 December 2009 10:31

The Ottawa Soil and Water Conservation District is offering full-color cotton

Artist Laurene Giesler (left) with Ottawa Soil and
Water Conservation District Board Chairman,
Rich Thorbahn.

throws featuring the artwork of Laurene Giesler, of Elmore.

The 60-inch by 70-inch throw features images of the Ottawa National Wildlife Refuge, the Marblehead Lighthouse, Ottawa County Bicentennial Barn, a bald eagle and an agricultural scene. The cost is $50. Money raised from the sale of the throws will support various district programs.

For more information, call 419-898-1595 or visit the district office at 240 W. Lake St., Oak Harbor.

Board members retire
Nancy Haynes and Burk Tischler were honored for 12 years each of service at the Nov. 23 meeting of the Sandusky County Board of Developmental Disabilities. The board oversees the School of Hope and Sandco Industries.

Haynes is the grandparent of a School of Hope student and served as secretary for the Board. Tischler has served as president of the board for eight years.

Officers approved
The story of Lakeside, Ottawa County’s own Chautauqua, was the focus of the Ottawa County Historical Society’s annual meeting Nov. 15 at Wesley Lodge in Lakeside. Lakeside has been designated a Chautauqua, or part of an adult education movement that started in the 19th century, since 1877.

Speaker George McCormick told the story from the area’s start as a reliable place to hold the annual picnic of Toledo’s St. Paul Methodist Church to its present position as a venue for church convocations and camps, national shuffleboard tournaments, and world-class entertainment.

McCormick, whose family has had a cottage in Lakeside for three generations, is a mineralogist and retired university professor who was twice a Fulbright Scholar.

In a brief business meeting after the program, members approved the slate of officers for 2010. They include Paul Moon, president; Doug Garrett, vice president; Gwen Addy, secretary; and Keith Addy, treasurer. Jeanne Huskey, Richard Taylor and Alex Thomas were elected as society board members for the 2010-2013 term.

The Ottawa County Historical Society welcomes new members. Visit for more information.


Comments (0)Add Comment

Post a comment
Login on the right column to post a comment. Please register if you do not have an account yet.


By: Press Staff Writer

Contact e-mail: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Show Other Articles


If you found a penny on the floor, would you pick it up?

The Current Weather for Millbury, OH USA



Log in