The Press Newspaper

Toledo, Ohio & Lake Erie

The Press Newspaper

The Press Newspaper


Valerie Floro, RN, of Memorial Hospital in Fremont has been nominated for the 2008 Albert E. Dyckes Health Care Worker of the Year Award. Floro, began her employment at Memorial Hospital in 1995 in obstetrics specializing in the postpartum and nursery areas. In 2001, she became a full-time OB RN and trained in labor and delivery.

Floro was nominated for her dedication to helping women and families get a healthy start. She also volunteers at Heartbeat of Sandusky County donating her time to teach Childbirth Education classes to women utilizing this service. She is active in numerous community organizations including Grace Community Church and the Memorial Hospital Auxiliary.

The Albert E. Dyckes Health Care Worker of the Year Award is given annually by the Ohio Hospital Association. The award recognizes an employee of an Ohio hospital or health care system who is an outstanding health care worker.


Krista Miller has been named employee of the year at Bay Park Community Hospital. She works in the laboratory department.

The former Tiffin resident is certified in medical technology. She graduated Cum Laude from Ashland University in 1999.

Up the ladder
Indebancorp shareholders at the recent annual meeting re-elected board members John Caputo, Dean Davis, Dr. Dennis Laub and Gary P. Macko to serve as directors for two-year terms expiring in 2010. They will continue to serve with board members; Jim Dunn, Charles Hablitzel and Thomas Spangler.

Gary P. Macko, president and CEO, reviewed the 2007 annual report and financial figures of The National Bank of Oak Harbor. Macko commented, “Despite a difficult economic environment, we are pleased to have delivered a cash dividend from positive earnings in 2007 for our shareholders.”

In addition, Macko, announced the following staff promotions at The National Bank of Oak Harbor organizational meeting: Rhonda Pavlica vice president, compliance officer; Thom Dayringer, vice president, loan production office manager; Cynthia Kreager, vice president, Curtice office manager and Sandra Burbach assistant cashier, IT officer

Pavlica has been in banking for over 20 years with 10 of those years at The National Bank of Oak Harbor. In 2005 she was promoted to assistant vice president compliance/BSA officer. She is Secretary/Treasurer for the Graytown/Rocky Ridge Baseball Association.

Dayringer has 32 years banking experience and joined The National Bank of Oak Harbor in 2005 to head the Real Estate lending area. He has expanded the products available to customers including FHA,VA and first time homebuyer programs such as the Ohio Housing Finance Agency (OHFA) and Welcome Home sponsored by the Federal Home Loan Bank.

Kreager began her 32 year career in banking right out of high school in 1976 as a teller. She has held various titles including senior financial officer, branch administrator and currently vice president. She is a graduate of Genoa High School and she has taken numerous courses through the Financial Institute of Banking. She is involved with the Genoa Chamber of Commerce.

Burbach is completing her 13th year at The National Bank of Oak Harbor and previously served as on-line banking coordinator. In 2005, she became a full time employee when she was named the bank’s information technology liaison, Burbach attended Terra Community College.

The National Bank of Oak Harbor is a wholly owned subsidiary of Indebancorp with $165 million in assets.


Rick Clabaugh has been promoted by the Sandusky County Park District as operations supervisor. Clabaugh is a graduate of Fremont Ross High School, Vanguard Vocational, and is a State of Ohio Certified Peace Officer.

He has been with the Park District since 1999. As Operations Supervisor, Mr. Clabaugh will oversee all park maintenance and improvements to Sandusky County Park District facilities, including White Star Park, Wolf Creek Park, Mull Covered Bridge, Blue Heron Reserve, Creek Bend Farm, Countryside Park, Shelley Wetland, and the North Coast Inland Trail.  

GenoaBank’s board of directors has declared a dividend of 14 cents per share to all shareholders of record as of April 22, 2008. The dividend was paid out on April 30, 2008.

Just the fax: Fax items before Wednesday to The Workplace at 419-836-1319, e-mail to or send to The Press, Box 169, Millbury, OH 43447.



Boy Scouts

Do you favor or oppose the Boy Scouts admitting girls?
688008740 [{"id":"252","title":"Favor","votes":"10","pct":22.73,"type":"x","order":"1","resources":[]},{"id":"253","title":"Oppose","votes":"30","pct":68.18,"type":"x","order":"2","resources":[]},{"id":"254","title":"No opinion","votes":"4","pct":9.09,"type":"x","order":"3","resources":[]}] ["#194e84","#3b6b9c","#1f242a","#37414a","#60bb22","#f2babb"] sbar 160 160 /component/communitypolls/vote/94-boy-scouts No answer selected. Please try again. Thank you for your vote. Answers Votes ...