The Press Newspaper

Toledo, Ohio & Lake Erie

The Press Newspaper

The Press Newspaper


Genoa senior running back Connor Wendt has been named by coaches the Suburban Lakes League Player of the Year.
Meanwhile, Genoa and Eastwood dominated the first team all-league selections, grabbing all but three spots. Genoa had 17 first team selections, Eastwood had seven, Lake had two, and Elmwood one.

First Team Selections follow —
Linebacker — Eastwood senior Seth Hoffman, Genoa senior Greg Hillabrand, Genoa junior Seth Dufendock.

Defensive lineman — Eastwood senior defensive tackle Matt Pickeral, Genoa junior DT Justin Upham, and Genoa senior DT Devin Mazza.
Defensive back — Wendt, Genoa senior Scott Traver, Eastwood senior strong safety Jake Rogers, and Eastwood senior cornerback Nick Schmeltz.
Defensive end — Genoa senior Richard Wonnell and Lake senior Brandon Tantari.
Running back — Wendt, Genoa senior RB Greg Hillabrand, and Eastwood junior fullback Pernell Conner.
Offensive guard — Hoffman and Genoa junior Brad Szypka.
Offensive tackle — Genoa senior Jake Schreuder and Genoa junior Luke Sutter.
Center — Genoa senior Kody Vincent.
Offensive end — Tantari (tight end), Wonnell (TE), and Eastwood senior Clay Rolf (TE).
Quarterback — Genoa senior Matt Bassitt.
Specialist — Genoa sophomore place kicker Tyler Pickard.

Second Team Defense
LB — Eastwood senior Bob Hardison, Genoa senior Alex Eckel, and Lake senior Ryan Hotmer; DL — Eastwood junior DT Nick Duncan, Lake senior DT Jacob Pack, and Woodmore senior DT Ben St. John; DB — Genoa sophomore Brandon Roberts, Gibsonburg senior strong safety Chris Black, Lake junior Kurt McKee, and Lake sophomore free safety Nathan Pennington; DE — Eastwood senior Clay Rolf and Genoa senior Jon Lester.

Second Team Offense
RB—Eastwood senior Cody Seifert, Gibsonburg senior Avery Potridge, Lake sophomore Josh Tantari; OG—Genoa junior Andrew Hayes, Lake senior Jacob Pack; OT—Eastwood junior Jeff Rutherford, Woodmore senior Ben St. John; C—Eastwood junior Taylor Link; OE—Genoa junior split end Derek Allgier, Woodmore junior SE Grant Weirich; QB—Woodmore sophomore Jon Sandwisch; Specialist—Eastwood junior place kicker Taylor Depew.

Honorable Mention
(Eastwood) Senior Justin Bockbrader, junior Forest Ickes, senior Clayton Ruch; (Genoa) junior Seth Dufendock, junior Matt Keaton, junior Casey Wojciechowski; (Gibsonburg) senior Jordan Binder, junior Nick Black, junior Derek Fisher, senior Joey Morelock, junior Jaime Mancha, junior Nick Sneider; (Lake) junior Carl Brown, senior Kyle Lee, junior Alan Martinez, junior Ben Sample; (Woodmore) senior Aaron Albright, junior Zack Avers, senior Joey Braun, junior Pierce Fonseca, junior Bryan Kuhlman, senior Aaron Rollins, junior Grant Weirich, and junior Jake Zollinger.




Boy Scouts

Do you favor or oppose the Boy Scouts admitting girls?
899629168 [{"id":"252","title":"Favor","votes":"10","pct":30.3,"type":"x","order":"1","resources":[]},{"id":"253","title":"Oppose","votes":"20","pct":60.61,"type":"x","order":"2","resources":[]},{"id":"254","title":"No opinion","votes":"3","pct":9.09,"type":"x","order":"3","resources":[]}] ["#194e84","#3b6b9c","#1f242a","#37414a","#60bb22","#f2babb"] sbar 160 160 /component/communitypolls/vote/94-boy-scouts No answer selected. Please try again. Thank you for your vote. Answers Votes ...