The Press Newspaper

Toledo, Ohio & Lake Erie

The Press Newspaper

The Press Newspaper


Senior Hall of Fame
Peg Rettig and Joe Wyant, of Fremont, were recently inducted into the Sandusky County Senior Citizens Hall of Fame.

The induction ceremony was held in conjunction with WSOS Senior Programs Annual Senior Day celebration. The Hall of Fame awards recognize senior volunteers in the community who serve as role models and who present a positive image of aging through various types of volunteer activities throughout the county. This year’s group brings the total to 90 senior volunteers inducted into the Hall of Fame since its inception in 2003.

Each inductee was awarded a plaque; a larger plaque located at the WSOS senior center in Fremont lists the names of all inductees to date.

WSOS operates four senior centers in Sandusky County, including Gibsonburg, Woodville, Fremont and Clyde. Call Senior Program Director Robin Richter at 419-334-8911 for more information about services for senior citizens.

Scout recognition dinner
Erie Shores Council of Boy Scouts of America, which is celebrating more than100 years of scouting, will hold the 88th Annual Scouter Recognition Dinner June 5 at Camp Miakonda, 5600 West Sylvania Ave., Toledo.

The annual dinner is held to honor the more than 2,500 adult volunteer leaders in Northwest Ohio who work with young scouts, including boys 7-21 and young men and women ages 14-21.

Dinner will begin at 6 p.m., followed by the outdoor Council Ring at 7 p.m. Special recognition will be given to Charles C. Horne, Jr., of Green Springs, who will receive the John Haar Lifetime Volunteer Service Award, established in 2009 to honor Haar’s, lifelong example of volunteer service.

Frank S. Merritt, of Toledo, will receive the Glenda M. Bowman Lifetime Inspirational Award, which honors leadership, courage in the face of adversity and helping others to reach their full potential.

Recipients of the District Award of Merit, given in recognition of those who give outstanding service at the district level, include Michelle McVicker, Taia Sutherland, Lee Anna Bornt and Todd Frendt of Lucas County; Kenn Bower, of Sandusky County; Jeffrey Smarkel, of Ottawa County and Joan Cornell, Shawn Benjamin and James Wilson, of Wood County.

Silver Beaver Awards – the highest award the council can bestow on an adult volunteer – will be given in recognition of noteworthy service and exceptional character to David Dean, of Oregon; Eric Timm, of Perrysburg; David Wilson, of Bowling Green; Allen Ellett, of Sylvania; Gary Harden, of Swanton and Lee Schultz, of Holland.

Rainbow Meet & Greet
The International Order of Rainbow for Girls, Ohio Assemblies, will host a “Meet & Greet” Thursday, June 12 from 6:30-8 p.m. at the Perrysburg Masonic Building, 590 E. South Boundary St., Perrysburg.

Majority Rainbow, their daughters, nieces, granddaughters, friends and current Rainbows are invited to attend. Light refreshments will be served.

Visit for more information.

Brown named Fire Queen
Kayla Brown, a sophomore at Lake High School, has been selected as the Lake Township Fire Queen.

Her father, Ed Brown, is a captain with the township fire department.

Kayla will represent the department at various functions, including the Northwest Ohio Volunteer Fireman’s Convention next month.

The Northwood Fire Department and Northwood Firefighters Association are hosting the convention.




Do you agree with the Supreme Court ruling that the Colorado baker did not have to prepare a cake for a gay wedding?
442016839 [{"id":"259","title":"Yes","votes":"40","pct":54.79,"type":"x","order":"1","resources":[]},{"id":"260","title":"No","votes":"31","pct":42.47,"type":"x","order":"2","resources":[]},{"id":"261","title":"No opinion","votes":"2","pct":2.74,"type":"x","order":"3","resources":[]}] ["#194e84","#3b6b9c","#1f242a","#37414a","#60bb22","#f2babb"] sbar 160 160 /component/communitypolls/vote/96-baker No answer selected. Please try again. Thank you for your vote. Answers Votes ...