The Press Newspaper

Toledo, Ohio & Lake Erie

The Press Newspaper

The Press Newspaper


Zion Luckey and Pemberville Methodist were recently crowned co-champions of the Wood County Dartball League for the 2012-13 campaign. Both squads ended the year with 42-24 records, two games ahead of third-place Bethlehem No. 1 (Pemberville).

Bethlehem No. 1 held a three-game, first-place cushion with six weeks remaining in the regular-season.  However, strong 15-3 closing marks by both Zion and PM earned each a piece of the title.  The co-champs shared the top spot in the WCDL the final three weeks of the season. Bethlehem 1, last year’s winner, relinquished its hold on first on Feb. 25.

Zion’s title represents its first since 2009-10 when it also earned a co-championship.  Its last outright crown came the year prior. Overall, Zion has won 14 regular-season championships since 1949-50, the second most behind only PM’s 16. Ten of Zion’s titles have come over the last 17 years.  PM last laid claim to first in 2010-11 and has won five championships since sharing the top position in 1995-96.

Bethlehem No. 2 and Pemberville Presbyterian were the only other teams posting winning records and finished fourth and fifth, respectively. Bowling Green St. Mark’s placed sixth with 33 wins, the club’s most since 2009-10.

BG Nazarene and BG Trinity United Methodist tied for seventh, one game better than New Rochester.  The Nazarenes finished with a franchise record 32 victories.  BG Cloverdale, Stony Ridge, and Salem-Grace United rounded out the standings. (— contributed by Mark Kunstmann)

Wood County Dartball League regular season co-champion Zion Lutheran of Luckey.  Seated (from left) are Erick Linhart, Pete Hebler, Dick Eilert, Curt Juergens, and Jim Hansen. Standing (from left) is Andy Lang, Dan Meyer, Mike Hoelter, manager Rick Nelson, and Brian Burrell. Team members Jeff Hahn, Jacob Linhart, Jim Juergens, Roger Bostdorf, and Matt Deames are not pictured. (Photo by Mark Kunstmann)

Wood County Dartball League regular season co-champion Pemberville Methodist.  Seated (from left) are Rick Ward, Steve Spahn, Jim B. Jividen, Jim A. Jividen, and manager Paul Spicer. Standing (from left) is Bob Jividen, Tom Jividen, Daniel Binion, Zach Binion, and Darren Pash. Team member Chris Soals is not pictured. (Photo by Mark Kunstmann)




Do you agree with the Supreme Court ruling that the Colorado baker did not have to prepare a cake for a gay wedding?
2046498189 [{"id":"259","title":"Yes","votes":"34","pct":55.74,"type":"x","order":"1","resources":[]},{"id":"260","title":"No","votes":"26","pct":42.62,"type":"x","order":"2","resources":[]},{"id":"261","title":"No opinion","votes":"1","pct":1.64,"type":"x","order":"3","resources":[]}] ["#194e84","#3b6b9c","#1f242a","#37414a","#60bb22","#f2babb"] sbar 160 160 /component/communitypolls/vote/96-baker No answer selected. Please try again. Thank you for your vote. Answers Votes ...