The Press Newspaper

Toledo, Ohio & Lake Erie

The Press Newspaper

The Press Newspaper


St. Francis de Sales High School Presents “Crazy for You”
Tickets are on sale now for St. Francis de Sales High School’s performance of “Crazy for You,” May 2, 3, 9 and 10 at the Franciscan Theater at Lourdes University. Tickets can be purchased by calling the school at 419-531-1618.

The cast includes Derek Kastner as Bobby Childs, Meghan Oberle (Notre Dame Academy) as Polly Baker, Kurt Elfering as Bela Zangler, April Varner (Notre Dame Academy) as Irene Roth, Nick Dombi (Oregon) as Lank Hawkins, Molly Layman (St. Ursula Academy) as Tess, Stephen Gullette as Eugene Fodor, Alexis Abou-Arraj (Notre Dame Academy) as Patricia Fodor, Christopher Sheehan as Everett Baker, Erin Johns (Notre Dame Academy) as Lottie Childs, Katie Dills (Notre Dame Academy) as Patsy, and Julia Balzer (Notre Dame Academy) as Mitzi.

Students who will be performing in the St. Francis de Sales production of “Crazy for You” include Nick Dombi of Oregon, along with Madeline Boersma, Derek Kastner, Lindsey Brady and Kurt Elfering.

The Cowboy Trio includes Robert Pamies, Ben Steingass, and Joey Tansey. There are an additional 53 chorus members from the girls’ academies and St. Francis de Sales High School.

This is the 16th SFS musical production being directed by Michael Kastner. This is the 28th year for Carl Collier as orchestra director and the 29th year for Karen Niewiadomski as the choreographer.

The 1992 musical, “Crazy for You,” features the music and lyrics of George and Ira Gershwin. The original book was written by Ken Ludwig. “Crazy for You” won three Tony Awards in 1992 for musical, choreographer and costume designer.

Local students in “Music 
Central Catholic High School (CCHS) will present its 85th consecutive musical production, “The Music Man” May 2-4, at the Valentine Theatre, 410 Adams St., Toledo.

Local students involved in the production include Alex Garcia, of East Toledo, as Jacey Squires; Taylor Osting, of Northwood, as Marian Paroo; and Tianna White, of East Toledo, serving as production assistant.

Curtain time is 7:30 p.m. Friday and Saturday and 3 p.m. Sunday. Tickets through CCHS are $10, $12, and $14 (which includes a $1 handling fee per ticket). Ticket order forms can be downloaded at

Tickets are also available through the Valentine Box Office, 419-242-2787. The theatre adds an additional surcharge.

For more information, please email

Dean’s list
Kaleb Kuzma, of Oregon, was among students named to the dean’s list at Bowling Green State University for the fall semester.

Phi Theta Kappa induction
Sixty-six Terra State Community College students were inducted into membership by the Alpha Mu Epsilon chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, a national two-year college honor society, during a ceremony held April 3.

Phi Theta Kappa recognizes and encourages scholarship among associate degree students who are invited to membership on the basis of scholarly achievement, leadership, citizenship, character and faculty recommendation.

To be eligible for membership, a student must have a minimum grade point average of 3.50 and have at least 12 hours of course work completed.

Inductees included Alexander Gibson, Johnathon Gibson and Gabriel Hickman, of Gibsonburg; Qiaoping Rohloff and Michelle Ulrich, of Graytown; Jessica Foos and Abbi Hasselbach, of Lindsey; Annmarie Detray, Cindy Dunfee and Elizabeth Zelms, of Oak Harbor; Eric Lewinski, of Oregon; Brian Shultz, of Pemberville; Jennifer Mondragon, of Toledo and Zachary Jacobs, of Woodville.

TCA's Rick Ash presenting (from left) Carmen Bickelhaupt, Xoie Bickelhaupt, 
Kendyle Baer, Aiden Slessman and Luke Hawkins with speech blue ribbons.

Spelling bee, speech competition champs
Ottawa County Christian Academy’s elementary students won five of six individual awards, as well as the overall school championship trophy at the 2014 Christian Academies of Northwest Ohio Spelling Bee and Speech Competition at Temple Christian Academy. Sixty-seven students from OCCA, Temple Christian Academy and Harvest Temple Christian Academy competed in the event.

The competition is for elementary students in kindergarten through the sixth grade.

Both the spelling and speech competitions were broken into the following age divisions including K-1, second-third and fourth-sixth.

Among the winners for OCCA were Austin Marzke, Genoa, K-1 spelling champion; Jaxan Bickelhaupt, Fremont, K-1 spelling runner-up and K-1 speech champion; Kellen Bickelhaupt, Oak Harbor, second-third spelling champion; Ryan Kozak, Genoa, fourth-sixth spelling runner-up; Carmen Bickelhaupt, Oak Harbor, second-third speech champion; and Breanna Slessman, Oak Harbor, fourth-sixth speech champion. Darren Conklin of TCA was the fourth-sixth spelling bee champion.

Students also were awarded ribbons for their speech performances. A three-judge panel issued blue ribbons to students scoring 30-27 points (30 being the highest), red ribbons for 26-24 scores and green ribbons for 23-20 scores. All scores below 20 received yellow participation ribbons. OCCA’s blue ribbon performances included Xoie Bickelhaupt, Fremont; Kendyle Baer, Curtice; Aiden Slessman, Oak Harbor; Luke Hawkins, Oak Harbor; Breanna Slessman; and Carmen Bickelhaupt.

OCCA won the trophy for the second consecutive year, garnering 33 points.

OCCA is a private, non-chartered religious school located at 325 S. Toussaint-Portage Rd., Oak Harbor.




Has Mark Zuckerberg's testimony before Congress changed your opinion of facebook?
317154972 [{"id":"247","title":"Yes, I am getting off facebook.","votes":"7","pct":35,"type":"x","order":"1","resources":[]},{"id":"248","title":"No, I am staying on facebook.","votes":"13","pct":65,"type":"x","order":"2","resources":[]}] ["#194e84","#3b6b9c","#1f242a","#37414a","#60bb22","#f2babb"] sbar 160 160 /component/communitypolls/vote/92-facebook No answer selected. Please try again. Thank you for your vote. Answers Votes ...