Home Eastwood students’ cardboard creation earns honors
Eastwood students’ cardboard creation earns honors
Written by Elizabeth Nauman, Staff Writer, The Eagle’s Eye   
Thursday, 20 May 2010 15:22

Eastwood students were required to think “outside the box” to complete a class

(Article and photo courtesy of the Eastwood school
newspaper, The Eagle’s Eye, its staff and advisor
Carol Wolfe).

project and eventually win first place in an engineering design contest held at Ohio Northern University. 

Cardboard is used for many purposes, but we rarely think of using it to sit on.

That’s exactly the problem Eastwood High School students from Mr. Bennett’s Industrial Arts II class had to work out before entering and winning Ohio’s Sitting Machine Design Challenge on March 11.

Students in the class worked hard for four weeks to construct their cardboard chairs. The top three chairs from the class were entered in the contest.

Among the three chairs entered were teams of sophomores, Travis Mohre and Kris Hayward, Zac Shaffer and Nathan Decker, and Brandon Shaffer and Jake Decker.

 The chairs were constructed of recycled cardboard and wood glue. During the designing process, the boy’s took in consideration the judging requirements: comfort, portability, functionality, stability, quality construction, aesthetics, durability, creativity, strength, and ease of use.

The contestants were also required to create a drawing of their chair along with an essay describing the general challenges they faced in the constructing process.

“The biggest challenge we had was fitting the chair inside of all the measurements and still hold up a lot of weight, but in the end we were successful.” Travis Mohre said.

The contest had 24 chairs entered into the high school division. The first place finisher was a chair made by Travis Mohre and Kris Hayward followed by Anthony Wayne in second. Teams of Zac Shaffer and Nathan Decker and Brandon Shaffer and Jake Decker also placed ninth or higher.

This is the second time Eastwood students have left the competition with the top honor. In 2008, Lucas Hoodlebrink, Alex Depew and Brian Kleeman represented the Eagles in the contest and brought home the top award.

Comments (0)Add Comment

Post a comment
Login on the right column to post a comment. Please register if you do not have an account yet.


By: Alyce Fielding

Contact e-mail: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Show Other Articles



How many firearms do you own?

The Current Weather for Millbury, OH USA


Log in