The Press Newspaper

Toledo, Ohio & Lake Erie

The Press Newspaper

The Press Newspaper


At the East Toledo Family Center’s Annual Meeting and Recognition Night held Jan. 22, the center’s board of trustees welcomed new members Amy Bartholomew, Jason Copsey, Mike Craig and Deb McLaren, along with returning members Phil Amadio and Jeff Dempsey.

Several awards and recognitions were also presented at the meeting. Honorees include:

• The Dorie Steinmetz Memorial Community Service Award was presented to Don Monroe. The award is given annually to an individual who best exemplifies the volunteerism and community service embodied by Steinmetz, who was a former board member.


• The Service Award, the highest award the East Toledo Family Center Board of Trustees presents, was given to the United in Safety Council from BP;  Hope Community Church and Hospital Council of Northwest Ohio for assistance in the form of technical or financial aid or through volunteerism.

• The Volunteer Award, presented to volunteers who far exceeded the Family Center’s expectations in their donation of time and talents included David Smith, Teen Program; Jean Schweitzer and Jane Wilde, Senior Center; Denise Pollick, Gala Volunteer and John Stvartak, Bev Piper, Mary Wilson, Debbie Black and Julie Anne Emerson, One Voice.

• The Staff Award, given to center staff members for dedicated service and a commitment to quality in the workplace. was presented to Cheryl Amborski, Child Care Director; Jodi Gross, Community Builder and Staci Cook, Help Me Grow Service Coordinator.

• Jaslynn Juhasz received the Reddish Leadership Award, named after the late Max Reddish, a lifelong East Toledo businessman who also served on Toledo City Council, as a Lucas County Commissioner and a member of the Family Center’s board of trustees. Juhasz was lauded for demonstrating sportsmanship, character and setting examples for her peers.

• Devon Ezell was recognized as the Cousino’s Youth of the Year, an award given each year to an individual that demonstrates the ability to achieve high standards in academic performance, the ability to work with and help others, and the ability to lead and withstand peer pressure.

• The East Toledo Neighborhood House Alumni Association has developed a scholarship fund designed to assist East Toledo-area youths in their pursuit of higher education. Scholarship winners include:

Aaron Henderson and Trent Cook – Volunteer Scholarship Award.

Barry Hayward – William Carswell Coach of the Year Award, named for the late Carswell, who was an outstanding coach for the Family Center.

Mary Kansorka – Senior Director Award, created in honor of the East Toledo Senior Activities Center’s first director, Nancy Gernheuser, who retired in 1997.

• Service Awards were given to staff members for their dedication and years of service. Awardees included Mary Wolff, 20 years; Tracy Garufos, Lisa Jankowski, Kim Partin, Sandi Peltier, 15 years, and Staci Cook, Shannon Huddleston and Carrie Faylor, five years.




Do you agree with the Supreme Court ruling that the Colorado baker did not have to prepare a cake for a gay wedding?
2012419332 [{"id":"259","title":"Yes","votes":"28","pct":59.57,"type":"x","order":"1","resources":[]},{"id":"260","title":"No","votes":"18","pct":38.3,"type":"x","order":"2","resources":[]},{"id":"261","title":"No opinion","votes":"1","pct":2.13,"type":"x","order":"3","resources":[]}] ["#194e84","#3b6b9c","#1f242a","#37414a","#60bb22","#f2babb"] sbar 160 160 /component/communitypolls/vote/96-baker No answer selected. Please try again. Thank you for your vote. Answers Votes ...