The Press Newspaper

Toledo, Ohio & Lake Erie

The Press Newspaper

The Press Newspaper


Eastwood High School senior Kevin Rahrig has been selected as a member of the


(From left) Matt Safford, assistant director of bands at Eastwood High
School; Kevin Rahrig, who was selected as a member of the 2010 U.S.
Army All-American Bowl Marching Band; and band director.

2010 U.S. Army All-American Bowl Marching Band.

Each year, more than 1,000 of the most accomplished high school band members in the nation submit auditions for the marching band. He will receive an all-expense paid trip to San Antonio Jan. 6-10 to march in the halftime performance of the All-American Bowl at the Alamodome Jan. 9.

Rahrig was recognized at a special ceremony held Dec. 4 in the high school auditorium.


Nominations sought for Teacher of the Year award
The East Toledo Family Center is seeking nominations for the East Toledo Teacher of the Year Award.

The criteria for the award includes educators who have lived, worked or served in East Toledo and have demonstrated character in one or more of the following areas: innovation, dedication, collaboration, volunteer and/or advocate. Candidates may be self-nominated or nominated by someone else. Forms are available at the Family Center, 1020 Varland Ave., East Toledo, or by calling 419-691-1429. Nominations must be submitted by Jan. 29.
 Selection is determined by a vote of the Renaissance Gala Planning Committee. The award will be presented at the Family Center’s annual Renaissance Gala April 24.

Academy enrolling
Genoa Community Christian Academy, 303 W. 4th St., still has space available for the 2009-2010 school year. Call 419-855-4187 for more information.

Also, home educators should note that the CCA Cougars are now preparing for the 2009-2010 basketball season. Junior or senior high-age boys who are interested in playing with a character-building team should call Monica Church at 419-855-4187, ext. 5 or 419-307-3407.



Penta social studies teacher Dave Harms (center), receives
a plaque from Ron Matter (left), Penta superintendent, and
Dr. Eric Myers (right), president of the Penta Board of
Education on Dec. 9.

Dave Harms, a social studies instructor at Penta Career Center was recognized by the Penta Board of Education and administration at the Dec. 9 board meeting for being one of five finalists for the 2010 Ohio Teacher of the Year award.

The results for the Ohio Teacher of the Year are expected to be announced this month. Ohio Teacher of the Year is an Ohio Department of Education program that honors, promotes and celebrates excellence in teaching.


No results found.