The Press Newspaper

Toledo, Ohio & Lake Erie

The Press Newspaper

The Press Newspaper


Heiks joins Lima, O. TV station staff
Deminique Sue Heiks, of Oak Harbor, graduated Dec. 18 from the college of Communication and Information at Kent State University, earning a Bachelor of Science in News degree with a concentration in Broadcast Journalism.Graduating Magna Cum Laude with high honors, she was on the Dean’s List every semester.

    Deminique Sue Heiks

A 2008 Oak Harbor High School graduate, she reported the news on the Black Squirrel radio station while at Kent State. She also worked for Kent’s TV2 television station as an anchor, reporter, producer, writer and camera operator. During the 2010 summer, she was an intern for WTOL News 11 in Toledo.

She is currently a full-time reporter with WLIO television in Lima, Ohio. See some of her clips on

Academic honors
Ashland University: Jessica Jensen, of Millbury; Alan Saunders, of Oregon.

University of Cincinnati: Anna Bergman, of Curtice; Christine Carlo, Kaylee Wisniewski, of Oregon;

Laura Dolph, of Elmore; Stephanie Berger, of Gibsonburg; Brenda Barton, Andrew Garner, Michael Mallernee, Jenna Phillips, Nathan Wukie, of Oak Harbor; Abigail Eppink, of Woodville.

Ohio State University: James Gallaher, Raquel Hernandez, Courtney Kenney, of Toledo; Jessica Hernandez, Marcus Keller, Paul Limmer, Rachel Martinez, Alyssa Powell, Patric Roman, Taylor Schmaltz, Emily Yedica, of Oregon; Ryan Munch, Phillip Tewers, of Northwood; Josh Boos, Katherine Glesser Mandy Hansen, Alan Scheanwald, of Curtice;

Kerri Shaffer, of Elmore; Kelly Traver, of Genoa; Brock Avers, Anthony Egbert, Ashley Fisher, Alyssa Reed, of Gibsonburg; Brookeanne Blay, Erica Mauder, of Graytown; Eric Kirwen, of Helena; Kayla Kowalski, Kasey LaCourse, of Luckey; Alyssa Diefenthaler, of Martin; Joseph Vancena, of Millbury; Sarah Harder, Andrew Krieger, Cody Magrum, Jillian McFarlan, Sarah Rhodes, Joshua Stone, of Oak Harbor; Ashley Appelhans, Courtney Moenter, Emma Morgan, James Morlock, of Pemberville; William Brenner, of Walbridge; Justin Garver, William Kuhlman, of Woodville.

Pennsylvania State University: Ariel Estes, of Curtice.

Ohio State University: Jeff Brower, Robert Sutphin, Heather Wells, of Oregon; Joshua Getzinger, of Curtice;

Kelly Traver, of Genoa; Nathaniel Pelton, of Gibsonburg; Eric Kirwen, of Helena; Carla Eckel, Donald Russell, of Pemberville; William Brenner, of Walbridge.

Academy nominees named
Congressman Bob Latta (R-Bowling Green) has announced his nominations from Ohio’s Fifth Congressional District for consideration for acceptance into the U.S. Air Force, Merchant Marine, Military and Naval academies in the class of 2015.

Local students nominated include Gibsonburg High School student Ivi DuShane, nominated for the U.S. Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs, Colo. And Eastwood High School student Joshua Carr, nominated for the U.S. Military Academy, West Point, N.Y.

A nomination does not guarantee acceptance into an academy. Additional information regarding academy nominations and application processes are available at




Do you agree with the Supreme Court ruling that the Colorado baker did not have to prepare a cake for a gay wedding?
794266809 [{"id":"259","title":"Yes","votes":"40","pct":55.56,"type":"x","order":"1","resources":[]},{"id":"260","title":"No","votes":"30","pct":41.67,"type":"x","order":"2","resources":[]},{"id":"261","title":"No opinion","votes":"2","pct":2.78,"type":"x","order":"3","resources":[]}] ["#194e84","#3b6b9c","#1f242a","#37414a","#60bb22","#f2babb"] sbar 160 160 /component/communitypolls/vote/96-baker No answer selected. Please try again. Thank you for your vote. Answers Votes ...