The Press Newspaper

Toledo, Ohio & Lake Erie

The Press Newspaper

The Press Newspaper


Doctor of medicine degree 
The Northeastern Ohio Universities Colleges of Medicine and Pharmacy (NEOUCOM) welcomed Ohio’s newest physicians at a commencement ceremony held May 17 at The University of Akron’s E.J. Thomas Performing Arts Center.

Graduate Jason Tank will complete a medical residency in Orthopaedic Surgery at Summa Health System-NEOUCOM, Akron Tank is a graduate of Oak Harbor High School and the son of Timothy and Becky Tank of Graytown.

Cason Ault, of Elmore, was recently awarded a $1,000 scholarship for his forthcoming semester at Tri-State University by the Copper and Brass Servicecenter Association (CBSA).

Ault is a repeat winner, having been awarded $1,000 for the 2007-08 academic year.
He is a senior majoring in chemical engineering. 

Shawna Troknya, of Clay Center, was also awarded a $1,000 scholarship by CBSA for her forthcoming semester at Lourdes College. She is a sophomore majoring in nursing.

Davis College: Jonathan Lutzman, graduate of Gibsonburg High School.

Ohio State University:  Sara Pratt, of Clay Center; Michael Walters, of Curtice;  Melissa Arndt, Megal Damschroder, Ian Huffman and Carrie Netcher, of Elmore; Danielle Peterson, of Genoa; Bryan Buhro, of Graytown; Lesli Mensing and Sarah Mominee, of Martin; Chelsea Bennice, Cherian Drouillard,  Angela Rospert and Russell Stoner, of Oak Harbor; Justin Berger, Anna Dishong, Jessica Shammo, of Gibsonburg; Uwe Eickert, of Helena; Andrea Keller, Wendy Vanderburg, of Woodville; Ashley Graber, of Bradner; Suzanna Budke, Angela Pickerel, Amanda Samson,  of Pemberville; Jason Holleran, of Walbridge.

Owens Community College: Kathy Bays, Chassity Cain, Jerald Lenning, Meaghan Schultz, Lynn Steiffert and Benjamin Wonnell, of Curtice.  Brett Golightley, Beth Getz and Kimberly Stockmaster, of Elmore; Jacalyne Adkins, Melinda Boehler, Darlene Gallaher, Laura Gerkensmeyer, Sarah Gerkensmeyer, Allyssa Haas, Marvin Hunt, Megan Spurgeon, Bradley Beach, Jessica Despones, Edward Hatzidakis, Dennis Layman and Holly Smith, of Genoa;  Natalie Renken, Cyndi Smith, Anthony Stevenson, Robin Bolen, Alexi Carnicom, Jennifer Ickes, Thomas McLennan and Casey Miller, of Gibsonburg;  Paula Fouke, Sandra Mellott and Christine Vail, of Graytown;  Kelly Navarre, Heather Roderick, of Haskins;  Andrew Haas, Dan Leady, Katie Pacewicz, Myranda Steele and Kandace York, of Luckey;  Deanna Buckley, Anna Counterman, of Martin; Kayleigh Brock, Josette Snyder, Eric Zakrzewski, Nicholas Lake, Margaret Mahas, Samuel Perras, Stephanie Sadowski and Chad Thomas, of Millbury;  Mary Brewer, Brenda Brown, Brandy Goetz, Melissa Kitzler and Chris Millinger, of Oak Harbor;  Brian Berry, Katie Daleska, Teresa Gentry, Scott Appelhans, Meaghan Blankenship and Heather Harmon, of Pemberville; Brittany Snyder and Christopher Boose, of Stony Ridge;  Colvin Cortney and Justin Webb, of Walbridge; Shelli Drossel, Joseph Shaw, Thomas Hoot and James Kruse, of Woodville.
Owens Community College students and a faculty member were recently honored for their academic excellence, earning membership in the Psi Beta National Honor Society.

The Psi Beta Honor Society was established in 1981 as a national honor society for psychology within community and junior colleges. Selection criteria for students receiving the honor is based upon achieving a class ranking in the top 35 percent or an overall 3.3 grade point average, earning a minimum “B” average in psychology and completing at least two semesters of psychology coursework. Additionally, recipients must demonstrate a genuine interest in psychology and exhibit high standards of personal integrity.
Inductees include Monica Gottfried, of Luckey; William Hooser, of Genoa; and Juanita Payne, of Walbridge.

Seminary graduate
Julie Weyandt, of Oak Harbor, earned a master of arts degree in Clinical Pastoral Counseling from Ashland Theological Seminary. The seminary, a division of Ashland University, is the largest seminary in Ohio and the 12th largest seminary in the United States and Canada.  

Academic honors
Slippery Rock University: Paul Kebker, of Genoa; Mary-Lynn Hadley, of Oregon.




Has Mark Zuckerberg's testimony before Congress changed your opinion of facebook?
257123937 [{"id":"247","title":"Yes, I am getting off facebook.","votes":"4","pct":33.33,"type":"x","order":"1","resources":[]},{"id":"248","title":"No, I am staying on facebook.","votes":"8","pct":66.67,"type":"x","order":"2","resources":[]}] ["#194e84","#3b6b9c","#1f242a","#37414a","#60bb22","#f2babb"] sbar 160 160 /component/communitypolls/vote/92-facebook No answer selected. Please try again. Thank you for your vote. Answers Votes ...