The Press Newspaper

Toledo, Ohio & Lake Erie

The Press Newspaper

The Press Newspaper


Clay alumni wins NRA championship at Camp Perry
Michael Seery, who graduated from Clay High School with the class of 2008 and is now a cadet 3rd class, or sophomore, at the U.S. Air Force Academy, Colorado Springs, Colo., recently became Collegiate Champion at the National Rifle Championships at Camp Perry.

Seery, a cadet from Cadet Squadron 22, won the NRA National Prone Collegiate title.

“I also won my class in Junior Master in the Prone Championship and class Junior Expert in the Three-Position Championship,” said the computer science major. There were 313 competitors in prone and 325 in three-position this year from all over the country and a handful of other countries, including Great Britain and Australia.

He currently holds five national records in Smallbore Prone. Before arriving at the Academy he had shot for about five years, beginning just before he started high school.

“I got my start at an intermediate junior training clinic put on by the NRA and the Ohio Rifle and Pistol Association,” he said. “For my first few years, I fired solely in .22 caliber rifle smallbore competition and as I progressed, learned to shoot a .171 caliber air rifle in the same style as is shot in NCAA Div I competition, which the Academy competes in, and in the Olympics and other international matches.”

“The skills I am learning in rifle competition could, I suppose, save my life someday,” Cadet Seely said. “However, it’s probably not the marksmanship skills - this kind of shooting is more like golf, physically. One maintains a very precise position and practices extreme mental and physical discipline.

“The mental toolbox I’m building and the discipline and skills under match pressure that rifle competitions teaches have been invaluable here at the Academy, and could certainly save or improve my own and others’ lives someday,” he said.

Academic honors
Several metro-area students earned academic honors at their chosen colleges and universities. They include: 

Columbus State Community College: Amy Keefe, of Oregon.

Lake Forest College: Valerie Miller, of Northwood.

University of Akron: Stephen Lowe, of Northwood.

Owens Community College: Melissa Lang, Rob Orians, Robert Pegler, Brandy Hartman, of Curtice; Bradley Akers, Barbara Brinke, Christie Cuthbertson, Tim DeCant, Paul Emerick, Patrick Foley, Brianne Gasser, Renee Hires, Craig Huntermark, Milbar Joven, Cathleen Kern, Michael Laplante, Ashley Leppert, Alicia Leslie, Mitzi Poiry, Daniel Raymond, Kelly Trzcinski, of Northwood;

Mario Alonzo, Casandra Bellman, Joel Byers, Cynthia Campbell, Megan Cantu, Amy Chiles, Gina Cipolla, Steven Dickens, Jacob Greener, Jonathan Hall, Jacqueline Kirkman, Katelyn Marunowski, Jennifer McLaughlin, Erin Morrissey, Hanasa Mourad, Sarah Mozena, Dan Robinson, Michael Romano, Daniel Stein, Jennifer Villegas, Ronald Donbrosky, Brooke Gahler, Kendall Meyers, Joseph Phillips, Lesley Shanks, Stephanie Wittebort, of Oregon;

Rashida Bell, Mark Bengela, Megan Burtscher, Yolanda Carmony, Douglas Cathers, Michael Clinker, Crystal Dantzer, Hillary DeShetler, Sharon Devalt, James Downour, Brad Fields, Cathy Fuleky, Steven Hilton, Margaret Ingram, Ron Keiser, Kaesie Kettinger, Brian Lundy, Lacey Lundy, Jennifer McDonald, Sarah Moreales, Margaret Pennington, Tammie Preston, Amy Puterbaugh, Nathan Rajner, Shanna Ribby, Francisco Sagrero, Jamie Thomas, Nancy Van Sickle, Christopher Vargas, Deborah Villaneuva, James Wagner, Danielle Webster, of Toledo.

Owens Community College: Ian Appelhans, Justin Bless, Donna Hoffman, David Rossler, Jacob Terry, of Curtice;Bradley Akers, Katie Brentlinger, Jonna Carson, Jeremy Clevenger, Valerie Crispin, Nicole Haddad, Katherine Luoma, Jessie Miller, Jamie Reardon, Brandon Recny, of Northwood;Daniel Bachmayer, Kelle Bollman, Joshua Dauenhauer, Teresa Davey, Lucetta Drlik, Matt Elvey, Brandon Ernie, Jenica Fisher, Heidi Gahler, Danielle Grady, Tony Hafner, Sara Hayward, Adam Heilman, Robin Heinz, Bryan Kusian, Cole Lofquist, Ashley Mermer, Andrea Mitchell, Tamera Morse, Jeffery Nero, Dawn Patterson, Nicole Phillis, Jameson Rowley, Zacharay Schabel, Bobbi Schelkun, Cassandra Sevra, Andrew Shields, Laura Wilhelm, Casey Winckowski, of Oregon; Raquel Becerra, Scott Boden, Cory Bowles, Amber Bragg, Carol Buser, Joseph Elchert, Jodi Grel, Nancy Jones, Karrie Krumnow, Alan Madison, Cassandra Perry, Michael Rowley, Sarah Thomas, Sandy Villaneuva, Mary Wilson, Veronica Zapata, of Toledo.

Cutline for first item:
Clay High School alumni Michael Seery, a cadet 3rd class at the U.S. Air Force Academy, won the NRA National Prone Collegiate title at the National Rifle Championships at Camp Perry. (Photo courtesy of the U.S. Air Force Academy)



Boy Scouts

Do you favor or oppose the Boy Scouts admitting girls?
1891719980 [{"id":"252","title":"Favor","votes":"10","pct":30.3,"type":"x","order":"1","resources":[]},{"id":"253","title":"Oppose","votes":"20","pct":60.61,"type":"x","order":"2","resources":[]},{"id":"254","title":"No opinion","votes":"3","pct":9.09,"type":"x","order":"3","resources":[]}] ["#194e84","#3b6b9c","#1f242a","#37414a","#60bb22","#f2babb"] sbar 160 160 /component/communitypolls/vote/94-boy-scouts No answer selected. Please try again. Thank you for your vote. Answers Votes ...