The Press Newspaper

Toledo, Ohio & Lake Erie

The Press Newspaper

The Press Newspaper


The Genoa Area Local Schools Scholarship Foundation, Inc. awarded a number of scholarship at the high school’s Honors Award Program .

The foundation, which offers scholarships to students of the Genoa Area Local Schools, was organized by a local group of interested citizens in 1991.
• Helen Asmus Memorial Scholarship: Cody Harder, Jay Herman, Daniel Robaszkiewicz, Ryan Scott, Blair Skilliter, Bonnie Wonnell.
• Stella Bertz Scholarship: Rachel Krajeski.
• Doris Brossia Memorial Scholarship, Jared Hillman.
• Clay-Genoa High School Reunion Scholarship: Nate Daniels.
• Curtice Kidz/Allen Township Scholarship:Jared Hillman, Katherine Smarkel.

• Curtice Kidz/Allen Township Scholarship Katherine Smarkel
• Envirosafe Scholarship: Callan Bialorucki.
• Alyssa Gackstetter Memorial Scholarship: Kevin Miller
• General Scholarship Fund: Francisco Cardenas, Simone Eli, Kelsey Imbery, Jason Knapp, Aleesha Richardson, Taylor Schneider, Alyssa Wolff.
• Genoa Area Federation of Clubs: Tomme Bergman Memorial Scholarship: Ashley Redding.
• Genoa Area FFA Alumni Scholarship: Breanna Beck, Melissa Curry, Seth Humberger, Jim Sankiewicz.
• Genoa Area Music Boosters Scholarship: Samuel Schlievert.
• Genoa Athletic Boosters Scholarship: Rachel Brown, Alan Scheanwald.
• Genoa Elementary Parent Teachers Organization (PTO) Scholarship: Jared Hillman.
• Genoa Golf Scholarship: Jared Hillman.
• Genoa Grange Scholarship: Seth Humberger.
• Genoa Kiwanis Scholarship: Nicole Buchanan, Corey Hodgson, Vince Core.
• Genoa National Honor Society Scholarship: Breanna Humbarger.
• Lester M. Henningsen Scholarship: Rachel Brown.
• Ryan Kimball Memorial Scholarship: Ryan Bless.
• “Papa Joe” McLear Memorial Scholarship: Courtney Mowery.
• Edith C. Niehousmyer Scholarship: Kallie Stahl.
• Helen L. Niehousmyer Scholarship: Samuel Schlievert,
• Curt Reinbolt Memorial Scholarship: Ryan Mock.
• Carol Scharer Scholarship: Bernadette Fritsch.
• The Sheahan Family Scholarship: Bryce Humbarger, Kallie Stahl.
• Marcia Tank Education Scholarship: Katherine Smarkel.
• Marcia Tank Science/Engineering Scholarship: Rachel Brown.
• Debra Sue Vine Memorial Scholarship: Rachel Brown.
• Wagner/Sondergeld Memorial Scholarship: Rachel Brown.
• James Walton Scholarship: Amanda Taylor.
• Clay-Genoa Volunteer Firemen’s Association: Zach Purney.
• The Dehn Sisters Memorial Scholarship Trust: Bernadette Fritsch.
• First Federal Bank:: Bernadette Fritsch.
• Genoa Area Education Association (GAEA): Bernadette Fritsch, Jared Hillman, Rob Orians.
• Genoa Area Education Association (GAEA) David Miller Honorarium”: Derek Dickinson.
• GenoaBank: Breanna Beck, Ryan Bless.
• Genoa Coterie Club: Alisha Vogel.
• Genoa Chamber of Commerce: Samantha Muntz.
• Ohio Association of Public School Employees  (OAPSE): Chad Blausey.
• Pepsi Americas: Marcus Vicars.

Academic honors
Baldwin-Wallace College: Alexander Brikmanis, Nick Clemons, of Oak Harbor; Chelsea Nissen, of Williston; Grant Hesselbart, of Woodville.

Davis College: Nicole Every, of Elmore; Adam Young, of Millbury; Karen Walters, of Pemberville.

Heidelberg University: Caitlin Sharp, of Pemberville.

Kent State University: Sara Petersen, of Curtice; Nathan Garner, of Elmore; Ashley Mooney, of Gibsonburg; Grady Brecheisen, of Lindsey; Rebecca Hegemier, Jacob Lemon, Tomi Michael, Bethany Twarek, of Oak Harbor; .

Lourdes College: Shawna Troknya, of Clay Center.

Muskingum College: Lindsay Heidebrink, of Walbridge.

St. Cloud State University: Rachel K. Anderson.

Terra Community College: Jamie Massie, of Elmore;  Nicholas LaPlant, Randall Walker, of Gibsonburg;  Nicole Bockbrader, of Graytown; Jennifer Johnson, John Lucas, Henry VanDerLaar, of Helena; Kelly Tonkin, Krista Weirich, of Lindsey;  Christian Barnett, Andrew Helms, Jacqueline Kohlman, Timothy Laderach,  Shirley Rose, Megan Rutherford, Ryan Wahl, Julia Yoss, of Oak Harbor.


Baldwin-Wallace College: Jeanne Osborne, of Oak Harbor.
Heidelberg University: Alyssa Miller, of Genoa; Ashley Mooney, of Gibsonburg; Rebecca Hegemier, Bethany Twarek, of Oak Harbor; Caitlin Sharp, of Pemberville; John Nelson, of Curtice.

Shaun Harder, Elmore, was among the 11 graduates of the Ohio Peace Officer’s Training Academy at EHOVE Police Academy. Completion of the class is a requirement to be eligible to sit for the Ohio Peace Officer Training Academy Certification test.

Heritage Award
Tyler Miller, of Genoa, has been awarded a Heritage Award to attend Mount Union College. A graduate of St. Francis de Sales High School, he was captain of the football team and was also involved in a campus ministry, math club and intramural basketball.

The Heritage Award is based on a review of academic credentials including curriculum, GPA, ACT/SAT scores and class rank. The award is renewable for four years.

Miller plans to pursue a major in education and criminal justice.

Penta Career Center Outstanding Students
High school seniors who completed career-training programs at Penta Career Center or through its satellite programs were recognized during special ceremonies on May 21 and May 27-29 at Penta.

During the ceremonies, 50 students were honored with the Penta Career Center Outstanding Student Award, presented to seniors based on performance and excellence in their career program. 

Among the honorees were:
Danielle Bishop (Administrative Assistant), Dan Jester (Welding), Eastwood;
Richard Zaborowski (Automotive Technology), Sherisa Clark (Medical Technologies), Genoa;
Joseph Bella, (Automotive Technology), Kately Baumbach (Cosmetology), Lake;
Matthew Holbrook (Construction Masonry), Phillip O'Shea (Marketing Education), Oak Harbor;
Tim Schnitker, (Computer-Aided Design), Woodmore.

Young artist honored
Woodmore Elementary School student Regan Draeger was among the winners of Memorial Health Care System’s Student Art Program.

The exhibit includes artwork from students in each grade level in Memorial’s primary service area. The pieces will remain on display in the Main Lobby of Memorial Hospital until January 2010 when the artwork from a second group of students will be displayed.  The exhibit offers the opportunity for the health system to connect with and celebrate student artists and their families and helps to create a stimulating visual environment.

Ryan Scott, of Curtice, was awarded a $1,000 scholarship from Glass City Federal Credit Union. The James F. Halleron Memorial Scholarship was established in 2001 to honor Halleron, a former GCFCU general manager and volunteer board member who passed away in December 2000.

A recent graduate of Genoa Area High School, he plans to attend Wright State University, where he will study computer engineering. Class valedictorian, Scott was a member of the National Honor Society and played alto saxophone in the GHS band.

Alicia Schnipke, of Walbridge, was recently honored for her academic excellence with induction into the Psi Beta National Honor Society at Owens Community College.

The Society’s mission is to encourage, stimulate and promote excellence in psychology, to advance the science of psychology and to nurture scholarship in all fields of study.



Boy Scouts

Do you favor or oppose the Boy Scouts admitting girls?
428005215 [{"id":"252","title":"Favor","votes":"10","pct":22.73,"type":"x","order":"1","resources":[]},{"id":"253","title":"Oppose","votes":"30","pct":68.18,"type":"x","order":"2","resources":[]},{"id":"254","title":"No opinion","votes":"4","pct":9.09,"type":"x","order":"3","resources":[]}] ["#194e84","#3b6b9c","#1f242a","#37414a","#60bb22","#f2babb"] sbar 160 160 /component/communitypolls/vote/94-boy-scouts No answer selected. Please try again. Thank you for your vote. Answers Votes ...