The Press Newspaper

Toledo, Ohio & Lake Erie

The Press Newspaper

The Press Newspaper


Two Ottawa County students receive Ag Scholarships
The Ottawa County Agricultural Agencies hosted a successful Ag Breakfast for producers and businesses on “National Ag Day”, March 20th.

OSU Extension Ottawa County, Ottawa Soil and Water Conservation District (SWCD), Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS), and the Farm Service Agency (FSA) staff prepared and served the meal for the 165 attendees.


The event “kicked off” with Kevin Fox auctioning off a dozen eggs – to be the first to eat. Money raised through the event goes to various scholarships the SWCD provides to high school students. After breakfast, Dr. Bobby Moser of The Ohio State University shared an update of where agriculture is headed in the future including energy, technology and medical fields.

To wrap up the morning and celebration of Ag Week, Kathy Booher, OSU Extension Ottawa County announced the 2009 Ag Scholarship Winners, Oak Harbor High School students: Meghan Miller and Kelsey Gahler. Miller will be attending The Ohio State University and Gahler will be attending OSU Agricultural Technical Institute (ATI).

Oak Harbor DECA places 1st at State Conference
Oak Harbor DECA members are preparing to compete at the International Career Development conference in Anaheim, Calif. after receiving top honors at the state competition.

All 14 chapter members competed at the Ohio DECA Career Development conference held in Columbus March 13-14. As a result, 11 students will represent the chapter at the DECA International Conference held April 28 through May 3, 2009.

The results of the state conference were: Katie Lemon, Ashley Mauder, and Tyler McNutt, 4th place, Public Relations Project; Melissa Florio, Phil O’Shea, and Samantha Scott, 4th place, Entrepreneurship Promotion Project; Ethan Easterwood, Daniel Macko, and Morgan Price, 4th place, Financial Literacy Promotion; Ryan Grof and Greg Goldstein, 6th place, Community Service Project.

The chapter also received 1st place in Outstanding Chapter Management. The project consists of one-hundred pages documenting the activities and accomplishments of the chapter. Melissa Florio, Phil O’Shea and Samantha Scott were responsible for completing this project.

Oak Harbor DECA is a part of the Penta Career Center Marketing Education Program located at Oak Harbor High School.

Academic honors
Owens Community College: Bernadette Fritsch, of Clay Center;
Daryl Keller, Elizabeth Older, Matthew Severhof, Dion Farrell, Zach Boris, Mandy Flagg, Vickie Pesina, Megan Horner, Dustin Roberts, Lucetta Drlik, Jeremy Hurst, Regina Donaldson, Tiffany Mosher, Kathleen Snnodgrass, Nathaniel Krall, Seth Sansing, Lisiane Winslow, Jonathan Thomson, Tom Duris, Erin Mottmiller, Patricia Thomas, Alissa Mailbach, Daniel Gaudette, Christine Miller, Sarah Preuter, Paige Robinson, Alicia Schnipke, Rebecca Ingram, Joleen Kriston, Amy Angelone, Sarah Maze, of Walbridge;

Alyson McCarty, Christopher Powell, Miranda Streight, Matthew Theiroff, Tiffanie Kovach, Dennis Hilgeman, Marcus Williams, Olivia Duty, Eric Sidle, Lori Kepus, Wesley Swartz, Joshua Zellers, Stephani Peterson, Carrie Kutchenriter, Becky Schulte, Nicole VanNess, Shawn Hartel, Luke Gackstetter, of Woodville.

Who’s Who
Ashland University senior Julie Piercefield, of Oak Harbor, is a member of Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges. She is the daughter of Timothy and Debbie Piercefield and is majoring in social work.    

Bowling Green State University: Chad Rutkowski, Kayla Scherf, Kevin Taylor, of Curtice; Christy Heckler, of Elmore; Robert Bergman, Thomas Bizjack, Amber Bookenberger, of Genoa; Cory Neill, of Luckey; Jeremy Diekman, of Martin; Scott Avery, Kyle Damschroder, Kevin Favro, Stephen Sabo, Brett Smith, of Oak Harbor; Dani Donaldson, Lavon Linkey, Karly Loomis, Erica Rudd, of Pemberville; Shannon Shoemaker, of Walbridge; Laura Golbinec, Amy Utendorf, Jonathon Winters, of Woodville.

Owens Community College: Bridgette Cole, of Curtice; Sandra Pierce, of Elmore; Miranda Case, Marving Hunt, Rebecca Sander, Mary Woyame, Modesto Sanchez, of Genoa; Thomas Brinker, of Gibsonburg; Kasandra Ivancso, of Graytown; Jeffrey Burnside, Norma Chalfin, Julie Gagnet, of Millbury;

Thomas Reinhart, Nichole Wagner, Desiree Weidner, Kimberly Jess, Scott West, of Oak Harbor; Krystal Karns, Mary Kukwa, Andrea Schulte, Kerri Welch, of Pemberville; Joshua McRobbie, Anthony Rife, Shereen Abbas, Vickie Pesina, Anthony Snyder, of Walbridge; Kristine Cleary, of Williston; Nina Garcia, Sherry Lindow, Shannyn Miller, Christopher Powell, Jennifer Rufenacht, of Woodville.

Several local students were awarded scholarships from the Owens Community College Foundation. They include:
James A. Adams Memorial Scholarship: Robin Bolen, of Gibsonburg;

John Deere Agricultural Equipment Scholarship: Zach Welling, of Pemberville;

Health Technologies Scholarship: Brina Burke, of Genoa;

Perrysburg Rotary Service Foundation (STRIVE) Scholarship: Jennifer Booth, of Stony Ridge and Catherine Cline, of Curtice;

Post-Secondary Option Book Scholarship: William Belkofer, of Graytown, Ann Marie DeTray, of Oak Harbor, Timothy Fritz, of Gibsonburg, Heather Nino, of Curtice; Victoria Pacewicz, of Luckey, Courtney Stoner, of Stony Ridge;

Pauline Schmidt Memorial Scholarship: Lucetta Drlik, of Walbridge;

UPS Scholarship: Charlene Black, of Pemberville, Meghan Collins, of Walbridge, Sara Soltis, of Genoa;

FFA delegates
Chad Gargas, Tom Luebke and David Stacklin, of the Genoa FFA Alumni Affiliate served as official delegates at the 37th Ohio FFA Alumni Convention, held in Columbus Jan. 31.

FFA Alumni delegates, representing over 80 affiliates, were present to conduct the business of the mover 3,500 member Ohio FFA Alumni Association.

The Genoa Affiliate, which is 15 members strong, was named an Ohio FFA Alumni Association Gold Medal Affiliate.

Sculptor honored
Hallie Dahlhofer, of Oak Harbor, received the Sculpture Award in the 2009 Juried Student Exhibition at Ashland University’s Coburn Gallery. The award carries a $100 cash prize.

A sophomore majoring in commercial art, Dahlhofer was honored for her wire/panty hose/spray paint/wood work titled “Goobers.” She is a 2007 graduate of Oak Harbor High School.

St. John’s Jesuit High School student Joshua Konieczny, of Millbury was recognized as a National Merit Commended Student. Commended students score in the top 5 percent of all students taking the test.

Caption with first suburban stars item, Ag scholarship photo

Ag Breakfast Scholarship winners Meghan Miller (left) and Kelsey Gahler with Bobby Moser, of the Ohio State University.

Caption for Oak Harbor DECA brief
Oak Harbor DECA chapter members after awards ceremony.




Boy Scouts

Do you favor or oppose the Boy Scouts admitting girls?
446011085 [{"id":"252","title":"Favor","votes":"10","pct":24.39,"type":"x","order":"1","resources":[]},{"id":"253","title":"Oppose","votes":"28","pct":68.29,"type":"x","order":"2","resources":[]},{"id":"254","title":"No opinion","votes":"3","pct":7.32,"type":"x","order":"3","resources":[]}] ["#194e84","#3b6b9c","#1f242a","#37414a","#60bb22","#f2babb"] sbar 160 160 /component/communitypolls/vote/94-boy-scouts No answer selected. Please try again. Thank you for your vote. Answers Votes ...