The Press Newspaper

Toledo, Ohio & Lake Erie

The Press Newspaper

The Press Newspaper


Academic honors
University of Cincinnati: Kyle Nutter, of Genoa; Taylor Henline, Kelsey Randolph, John Rose, Sadie Sneider, Aaron Triplett, of Gibsonburg; Cody Curry, of Lindsey; Allison Bast, Lee Dicesare, Andrew Garner, Brian Mallemee, Jenna Phillips, Olivia Porter, Chelsea Rounds, of Oak Harbor; Derek Busdiecker, of Walbridge; Katherine Blausey, Karen Faulk, of Woodville;

Phillip Brailsford, of Toledo; Nicole Breeden, Christine Carlo, Sarah Row, Katlyn Seimet, of Oregon.

Terra State Community College: Floyd Miller, Todd Ream, of Elmore; Alyssa Escobedo, Peyton Geary, Shelby Granger, Gabriel Hickman, Kristie Seem, Kiersten Thomasson, Leslie Waugaman, of Gibsonburg; David Lopez, Qiaoping Rohloff, Michelle Ulrich, of Graytown;

Kenneth Kreilick, Austin Shafer, of Helena; Kourtney Dance, of Northwood; Tyler Ellis, Michael Hasselbach, Bryan Hughes, Clark Miller, Aaron Smith, Samantha Wilkins, of Oak Harbor; Amy Duty, of Rocky Ridge; Jennifer Mondragon, of Toledo; Zachary Jacobs, Angela Taylor, of Woodville.

Mount Carmel College of Nursing: James Brower, II, of Oregon.

Brough recognized
Cobi W. Brough, of Oak Harbor, is the recipient of an $8,500 Recognition Award to attend Wilmington College, where he plans to major in animal science and minor in ag business.

The son of Daniel and Jessica Brough, he will graduate in 2014 from Oak Harbor High School.

Invitational Art Exhibit
Several Clay High School students exhibited artwork at the Ninth Congressional District Invitational Art Exhibition, presented by The Arts Commission and Congresswoman Marcy Kaptur Jan. 29 through Feb. 19 in the lobby of Fifth Third Center at One Seagate, Downtown Toledo.

The annual exhibit celebrates the creativity and artistic talent of area youth. Art teachers from high schools within Ohio’s Ninth District were invited to nominate student art for display. Artworks were selected to receive awards by a jury composed of art educators, local artists, and representatives from institutions sponsoring awards.

Sixty pieces of art from students attending 11 different local high schools were included in this year’s exhibition, including works by Clay students Jessica Burgess, Matthew Dansack, Abby Filka, Haylee Robarge and Mary Wooten.

For more information, visit or

Dean’s list honors
Angela LeForce, of Oregon, made the dean’s list and earned a certificate of merit in Family Law at the Thomas M. Cooley Law School.



Boy Scouts

Do you favor or oppose the Boy Scouts admitting girls?
722461567 [{"id":"252","title":"Favor","votes":"10","pct":29.41,"type":"x","order":"1","resources":[]},{"id":"253","title":"Oppose","votes":"21","pct":61.76,"type":"x","order":"2","resources":[]},{"id":"254","title":"No opinion","votes":"3","pct":8.82,"type":"x","order":"3","resources":[]}] ["#194e84","#3b6b9c","#1f242a","#37414a","#60bb22","#f2babb"] sbar 160 160 /component/communitypolls/vote/94-boy-scouts No answer selected. Please try again. Thank you for your vote. Answers Votes ...