Home Education Student Stars
Student Stars
Written by Alyce Fielding   
Thursday, 22 January 2009 15:41

Local students earn academic honors
Marquette University – James Molnar, of Oregon; Zachary Rost, of Toledo; Tyler Bowlus, of Pemberville;

Ohio State University –Larry Koren, of Toledo; Corey Balogh, Alexander Cherry, Bradley Coy, Colby Cummerow, Sarah English, Jessica Fioritto, Elizabeth Johnson, Marcus Keller, Mitchell Mack, Jeffrey Mack, Rachel Martinez, Blake Powell, Alison Powell, Taylor Schmaltz, Jamie Takacs, Carly Meier, of Oregon; Ashley Dale, Andrea Kamilaris, Ryan Munch, of Northwood; Josh Boos, Chelsea Gilbert, Meredith Gilbert, Katherine Glesser, Chase Johnson, Andrew Meis, of Curtice;Chandler Shirer, Derek Speaker, of Elmore;Sarah Milbrodt, Jessica Stephens, Kelly Jo Traver, of Genoa; Zachary Black, Ashley Fisher, Nancy Miller, Derek Schlea, Shawn Doliboa, of Gibsonburg;Heidi Oberhaus, of Graytown;Eric Kirwen, of Helena; Chelsey LaCourse, Brandon Snyder, of Luckey; Elizabeth Carstensen, of Martin;Wesley Bergman, Charles Burns, Ruben Campos, Jillian McFarlan, Emily McKinney, Alex Straub, of Oak Harbor;Caitlin Bushman, Tricia Krukemyer, Donald Russell, of Pemberville;Trent Nissen, of Williston; Stacey Freyer, Marc Ribe, of Woodville.

University of Wisconsin – Aaron Delman, of Toledo.

Congressman Bob Latta (R-Bowling Green) recently announced his nominees from the Fifth Congressional District for his consideration for acceptance into the United States Air Force, Merchant Marine, Military and Naval academies in the class of 2013.

Among the nominees was Lake High School student Michael Mathews, of Walbridge. Nomination does not guarantee acceptance in an academy; that responsibility rests with each academy’s admissions office.

Woodmore’s eighth-grade team took the first place school trophy at the recent District Power of the Pen tournament held recently at Sandusky Central Catholic High School. Sixteen schools attended the tourney. Woodmore’s seventh-grade team took the third-place trophy for their level. Individual medallions and trophies went to the following students:
Eighth grade: Katy Ayers sixth place; Mikki Baer, 13th place; Christoher Hines, Best of Round I story.
Seventh grade: Megan Rodriguez, fourth place and Best of Round III story; Allie Wank, 12th place; Callie Staton, 15th place.

Ohio State University - Mitchell Mack, of Oregon; Timothy Cordell, of Northwood; Andrew Meis, of Curtice; Daniel Sell, of Elmore; Wesley Bergman, Lindsay Risch, of Oak Harbor.

Comments (0)Add Comment

Post a comment
Login on the right column to post a comment. Please register if you do not have an account yet.


By: Alyce Fielding

Contact e-mail: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Show Other Articles



If you found a penny on the floor, would you pick it up?

The Current Weather for Millbury, OH USA


Log in