The Press Newspaper

Toledo, Ohio & Lake Erie

The Press Newspaper

The Press Newspaper


Owens honors retiring board members Molter and Libbe

Owens Community College Board of Trustees members R J Molter, of Woodville, and Allan J. Libbe, of Perrysburg, were recently honored for their combined 60 years of service and commitment to the academic institution and the Board of Trustees. Both are retiring at the end of their terms.

“Words cannot begin to express the Owens Community College Board of Trustees’ appreciation to Allan Libbe and R J Molter,” said Dee Talmage, Chair of the Owens Community College Board of Trustees. “Allan and R J have been instrumental in impacting the lives of thousands of students through their leadership and support of higher education. On behalf of Owens Community College and the Board of Trustees, I would like to extend a heartfelt thank you to both of them.”

A graduate of the University of Toledo with a bachelor’s degree in pharmacy, Molter serves as a staff pharmacist at Pills & Packages Pharmacy and is the former co-owner of M & M Pharmacy in Woodville. He was initially appointed to the college’s Board of Trustees in June 1972.

Molter’s involvement on the board includes serving as Board Chair (1974-77) and  (1998-99) and Vice Chair (1986-89), (1996-97) and (2011). Additionally, he assisted in the establishment of the Ohio Technical and Community College Association Directory of Trustees. The state organization is now known as the Ohio Association of Community Colleges, which represents Ohio’s 23 community colleges.

Molter has served with five of the college’s six presidents and provided leadership in the growth and development of Owens Community College from a technical college to a comprehensive state community college and from 25 acres to more than 400 acres, including expansion to Hancock and Lucas counties.

Initially appointed to the Board of Trustees in September 1992, Libbe is one of three founders of Rudolph/Libbe in 1955 and now serves as Secretary/Treasurer of Rudolph/Libbe Companies. During his Board of Trustees tenure, Libbe served as Board Chair (1996-97) and Vice Chair (1993-95) and was a member of the Finance Committee (2001-12). He also has held membership on the Owens Community College Foundation Board, prior to and since its incorporation in 2002.

Retiring Owens Board of Trustees (L to R) R J Molter and Allan Libbe pose for a photo with Board Chair Dee Talmage following the College's recent Board of Trustees meeting.

Penta students win top honors at national conference
Laura Luckey (Woodmore High School, class of 2012), who completed Penta Career Center’s Exercise Science/Sports Health Care program, earned first place and a gold medal in the Medical Math competition at the 48th Annual SkillsUSA National Leadership and Skills Conference (NLSC) held June 23-27 in Kansas City, Mo.

Megan Hess and Laura Luckey with their
medals from the SkillsUSA National Leader-
ship and Skills Conference.

In addition, Megan Hess (Northwood High School, class of 2012), who completed Penta’s Culinary Arts program, earned third place and a bronze medal in the Culinary Arts competition at the NLSC.

Luckey and Hess advanced to the national competition by earning first-place awards this past spring at the Ohio SkillsUSA contest in Columbus. In Kansas City, the students competed against dozens of contestants from across the U.S. to earn their awards. Luckey was accompanied to Kansas City by Penta Exercise Science/Sports Health Care instructor Gretchen Reichow and Hess was accompanied by Janea Makowski, instructor of Culinary Arts at Penta.

In addition to her gold medal, Luckey received gift cards from Lowe’s and Starbucks. For her third-place award, Hess earned scholarships to Johnson & Wales University, The Culinary Institute of America and Le Cordon Bleu. She also received various kitchen utensils and shoes.

The NLSC is the national-level competition for public high school and college/post-secondary students enrolled in career and technical education programs. More than 5,600 students from across the country competed in 94 hands-on skill and leadership contests.
(L-R) Megan Hess and Laura Luckey are pictured with their medals from the SkillsUSA National Leadership and Skills Conference.

Stritch student honored
Cardinal Stritch High School student Robert Finkbeiner III has been nominated as an All-American Scholar in the U.S. Achievement Academy.

Finkbeiner was nominated by Cardinal Stritch coach Jim Kubuske based on excellence in academic disciplines.

Diamante Awards presented
Northwest Ohio community leaders and organizations, as well as area college and university students, recently were honored for their achievements and service to the Latino community as Owens Community College served as host to the 23rd annual Diamante Awards.

In addition to recognizing four Diamante (diamond in Spanish) Awards recipients, scholarships were presented to more than 20 students from Owens Community College, Bowling Green State University, Lourdes University and The University of Toledo – the four Northwest Ohio academic institutions whose partnership in the awards program benefits their Latino students.

Diamante Award recipients are chosen based on recognition of exemplary leadership/achievements within the Latino community or community at large, or demonstrated excellence in their fields; dedication and commitment in an ethical and inclusive fashion, and modeling qualities and behaviors of a mentor for youth and the community.

Nueva Esperanza Community Credit Union (NECCU) earned the Diamante Award in the category of Corporate/Community Agency.

Alberto Serrano-Chavez of Maumee received the Diamante Award in the category of Latino Youth Leadership.

The recipient of the Diamante Award in the category of Latina Adult Leadership is Cynthia “Cindy” Geronimo of Toledo.

The Diamante Award recipient in the category of Latina Adult Professional is Celeste Taylor, of Toledo.

In addition to Diamante Award winners, scholarships were awarded to students exhibiting academic excellence, service and leadership at the highest level. Among the recipients were Rachel Martinez of Oregon (UT student), Diamante Image Latino Scholarship; Andres Zapata, of Gibsonburg (UT student), Diamante Image Latino Scholarship and KeyBank Diamante Latino Scholarship.

Grand Valley State University: Leigh A. Clabaugh, of Woodville.

The Ohio State University: Alyssa Diefenthaler, of Martin; Leslie Risch, of Oak Harbor; Alex Campbell, of Gibsonburg;

Academic honor
The Ohio State University: Stefanie Neuman, of Genoa; Alyssa Diefenthaler, Martin.




Has Mark Zuckerberg's testimony before Congress changed your opinion of facebook?
1014046672 [{"id":"247","title":"Yes, I am getting off facebook.","votes":"6","pct":35.29,"type":"x","order":"1","resources":[]},{"id":"248","title":"No, I am staying on facebook.","votes":"11","pct":64.71,"type":"x","order":"2","resources":[]}] ["#194e84","#3b6b9c","#1f242a","#37414a","#60bb22","#f2babb"] sbar 160 160 /component/communitypolls/vote/92-facebook No answer selected. Please try again. Thank you for your vote. Answers Votes ...