Student stars: Penta students earn top honors at BPA Leadership Conference

Press Staff Writer

        Two local Penta Career Center students were among top award winners at the Business Professionals of America (BPA) Ohio State Leadership Conference held March 8-10 in Columbus.
        Tryeton Smith (Northwood), a student in Penta’s Information Technologies Academy, earned second-place honors in the Device Configuration & Troubleshooting Contest.
        William Lynch (Lake), a Digital Arts & Design student, earned fifth place in the Advanced Desktop Publishing Contest.
        Both students qualified for the BPA National Leadership Conference to be held April 26-30 in Anaheim, California.
        BPA is a career-technical student organization for students pursuing careers in business management, information technology, finance, office administration, health administration, and other related career fields.
Academic honors
        Bluffton University: Jacob Boelkens, of Millbury; Michael Lindhorst, of Lindsey.
        Coastal Carolina University: Melissa Lincoln, of Northwood; Megan Graham, of Luckey.
R.C. Waters highlights Top-Class Dojo Winners
        R.C. Waters Elementary, in Oak Harbor, participates in a school-wide initiative called Positive Behavior Interventions and Supports (PBIS).
        PBIS is a process for creating safer and more effective schools by allowing a safe and productive learning environment.
        The school has adopted a unified set of expectations for behavior, in place in classroom and non-classroom settings in the school. They include – Be Respectful, Be Responsible, and Be Ready.
        Student behavior is documented using a tool called ClassDojo, a tracking system that reinforces positive behaviors and quickly engages students in becoming accountable for their own choices. On a scheduled rotation, students are able to “shop” from the Dojo reward cart using the points they have earned for meeting the behavior expectations.
        Students recognized as R.C. Waters’ top Class Dojo winners for the month of February include:
        Kindergarten: Elaina Bodi, Braxton Stacy, Grant Knauss, Josie Romstadt, Aubrey Vicroy, Carter Wiechman, Canan Cummings and Xander Newton.
        First grade: Andrew Magoto, Adaline Toris, Jayden Romo, Jaden Carpenter, Marleigh Gardner, Owen Emahiser, and Peyton Damron.
        Second grade: Shaylynn Hill, Madelyn Zak, BrantLee Myerholtz, Ty Bloomer, Adysan Heminger, Will Denslow, Elsie Perkins, Janie Lattimore, Mason Fritch and RJ Gottschalk.
        Third grade: Evelyn Miller, Malachai Monhollen, Zach Sindeldecker, Zy'aire Gill, Ava Porath, Quinn Guerin, Braxton Bauer, Weston DeLeon, Mason Amborski and Haygen Kerr. 


The Press

The Press
1550 Woodville Road
Millbury, OH 43447

(419) 836-2221

Email Us

Facebook Twitter

Ohio News Media Association