Student Stars: Alexandra Liskai awarded Ohio State scholarship

Press Staff Writer

        Alexandra Liskai, of Woodville, has been selected to receive the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation Agricultural Education Scholarship from the Department of Agricultural Communication, Education and Leadership (ACEL) at The Ohio State University.
        Liskai is an agriscience education major.
        Students in ACEL were awarded more than $75,000 from funds provided through donations of faculty, alumni and friends of the department. Recipients were selected because of their dedication to the industry, involvement in the department and academic achievement.
        The agriscience education major at Ohio State prepares its students to acquire a license to teach agricultural science in secondary high schools in Ohio and across the country, with extensive training in agricultural science, educational psychology, instructional methods and youth development.
        For more information on the agriscience education major, visit or call 614-247-6358.
Academic honors
        Several area students were awarded honors for the Summer 2022 semester at Mercy College of Ohio.
        To be named on the Dean’s List, a student must achieve a grade point average of 3.3 or higher and be enrolled for 12 or more credit hours. To be named on the Honors List, a student must achieve a grade point average of 3.3 or higher and be enrolled for six-11 credit hours. To be named on the President’s List, a student must achieve a 4.0 grade point average and be enrolled for 14 or more credit hours.
        Honorees included:
        • Curtice – Luke Frias, Honors List.
        • Northwood - Angela Murphy, Honors List; Cybill Turner, Honors List.
        • Oregon – Heather Bienyk, Honors List; Faith Montgomery, Honors List; Jennifer Taylor, Honors List; Aaron Wilhelm, Honors List; Brandie Wright, Honors List; Nuhad Zeitoun, Honors List.
        • Toledo – Meraina Castillo, Honors List; Nicole Gonzales, Honors List; Briana Guerrero, Honors List; David Malathong, Dean’s List; Corinne Pouncy, Honors List; Corrina Salinas, Honors List; Alexandria St. Claire, Honors List.
        • Genoa – Laney Reineck, Dean’s List; Amber Showman, Honors List.
        • Gibsonburg – Alexis Arriaga, Honors List; Katelyn Kolkemeyer, Honors List.
        • Luckey – Stacy Franklin, Honors List.
        • Millbury – Taylor Asman, Honors List; Jodi Mehle, Honors List,
        • Oak Harbor – Jason Pratt, Dean’s List.
        • Walbridge – Rachael McRobbie, Honors List; Bryan Pfouts, Dean’s List.
        • Woodville – Laurie Mendez, Dean’s List.
        Mercy College offers graduate degrees in Nursing, Health Administration and Physician Assistant; bachelor’s degrees in Biology, Healthcare Administration, Medical Imaging and Nursing; associate degrees in Health Sciences, Health Information Technology, Nursing, and Radiologic Technology; and certificates in Community Health Worker, Emergency Medical Technician-Basic, Medical Coding, Paramedic, Phlebotomy and Polysomnographic Technology, along with specialty imaging certificates.
Joyce interning with
Prosecuting Attorney

        Christopher Joyce, of Oregon, is an intern for the Hancock County Prosecuting Attorney in Findlay, for fall 2022.
        Joyce is pursuing a degree in law and the liberal arts/pre-law at the University of Findlay, where he has been elected president of the Law Society for the 2022-2023 academic year.
R.C. Waters honors
Top-Class Dojo winners

        R.C. Waters Elementary participates in a school-wide initiative called Positive Behavior Interventions and Supports (PBIS).
        PBIS offers a process for creating safer and more effective schools by fostering a safe, productive learning environment. R.C. Waters has adopted a unified set of expectations for behavior in every classroom and non-classroom setting in the school – Be Respectful, Be Responsible and Be Ready.
        Student behavior is documented using a tool called ClassDojo, a tracking system that reinforces positive behaviors and quickly engages students in becoming accountable for their own choices. On a scheduled rotation, students are able to “shop” from the Dojo reward cart using the points they have earned for meeting the behavior expectations.
        Top Class Dojo winners for September include:
        Kindergarten: Kolt Hansen, Baya Lattimore, Abigail Brandt, Raymond Brown. David Gackstetter, Madison Van Atta and Ella Behnke.
        First grade: Annabelle Pohorecki, Amberly Mason, Benjamin Miller, Adalyn Wren, Madison Martin and Andrew Jensen.
        Second grade: Brylond Ochsenbine, Levi Steinmetz, Claire Laughlin, Brantlee Bond, Jayceon Johns and Caralyn Boss.
        Third grade: Lorraina Reif, Marcus Borjas, Cora Weichman, Lauren Mulligan, Jonas Rohde, Rhiannon Spindler, Ava Ramsey, Quinn Guerin, Drew Boss, Katie Sabo and Cody Rickus.
Rotary student of the month
        Terra State Community College student Korey Robinson has been named the college’s Rotary Student of the Month for October.
        Robinson graduated from Thomas Worthington High School in 2020. At Terra State, he is taking classes to earn an Associate of Applied Business degree in Business Management. He also plays on the Terra State Titans Men’s Basketball team.
        In his time at the college, he has made the dean’s list for the spring of 2022 semester and earned accolades as a 2nd Team NJCAA All-American for the 2021-22 academic year.
        “I chose Terra State to be a part of a good, tight-knit community, to receive an education and to play basketball,” said Robinson.
        Outside of class and basketball, Robinson enjoys spending time volunteering for the Fremont Recreational Center.
        After graduation in May 2023, Robinson wants to transfer to a four-year institution to earn a bachelor’s degree in business, and eventually have a career in human resources or marketing.


The Press

The Press
1550 Woodville Road
Millbury, OH 43447

(419) 836-2221

Email Us

Facebook Twitter

Ohio News Media Association