Dussel wins another thriller

Todd Tappel and Brian Liskai

For the second week in a row, Gibsonburg’s Nate Dussel was passed for the lead in the middle of the 410 sprint feature but his perseverance allowed him to make a race-winning pass late in the feature on Industrial Resourcing Group Night.  

This time, Dussel passed Cale Conley as the pair took the white flag to win the Ti22 FAST event.  In the MPD BOSS non-wing main, Fenton Michigan’s Steve Irwin took the lead on a lap 14 restart and eventually ran unchallenged for his first ever Fremont Speedway win.  In the 305 sprints, Paul Weaver passed Dustin Stroup with four laps remaining to claim his fifth win of the season.  Jamie Miller took the lead on lap six of the Dirt Truck feature and scored his third win on the year.

For Dussel, the track’s 2020 Fort Ball Pizza Palace 410 Sprint champion it was his third victory of the season and the 28th of his career at “The Track That Action Built. Weaver earned his 64th career win at Fremont, putting him just one behind Shawn Valenti for second on the track’s all time win list with 64 victories. Miller now has 26 career wins at Fremont.

Troy Vaccaro and Nate Dussel brought the FAST on Dirt feature to the green flag.  Dussel jumped to the early lead with Cole Macedo taking the runner-up spot on lap three.  Macedo would then suffer mechanical issues, bringing out the caution.  Fourth-starter Cale Conley would pass Vaccaro for second and run down Dussel for the lead.  

D.J. Foos would take the third spot from Vaccaro and seventh starting Lee Jacobs followed suit to take fourth.  In the closing laps, Dussel reeled Conley back in before making the winning pass.  Conley would take the runner-up position over Lee Jacobs, 13th-starting Trey Jacobs, and Foos.

The previous Saturday, Dussel led midway through the 410 A feature at Fremont Speedway, lost the lead to Cole Duncan but fought back to take the lead with four laps to go and drove to his second win of the season on All Pro Aluminum Cylinder Heads Night.

Gibsonburg racer Stuart Brubaker took the early lead but Dussel stayed within striking distance and when the leaders raced into heavy lapped traffic by lap 13 Dussel pounced to take the top spot. Ohio Sprint Speedweek Fremont winner Cole Duncan drove around Dussel into the lead on lap 17 and appeared to be headed for the win. Following a caution with nine laps to go, Dussel began using the bottom side of the track to close on Duncan and drove under the lead to take the top spot back with four laps to go. Dussel pulled away for his 27th career Fremont win worth $4,000 thanks to Spanky’s Pizza of Carey, Ohio.

“When I got passed by him (Duncan) I thought well that’s pretty much done. When it comes to a slick track at Fremont Cole Duncan is about as unbeatable as it comes. We got a little bit of a run there two or three laps and I gained on him a couple of laps when I found the bottom and I thought, ‘Well, shoot, the only chance I’ve got is hoping he doesn’t find the bottom.’ And I started nailing that. I can’t tell you how rewarding that is because we’ve just been terrible all year. I can’t find any consistency and it beats you up as a driver and a team. It’s what we’ve needed,” said Dussel.

Back to last Saturday, Carmen Perigo led Steven Irwin for the first 13 laps of the BOSS non-wing sprint feature before Irwin made his winning pass.  Mike Miller and Matt Westfall ran third and fourth nearly the entire race.  Jesse Vermilion had a steady charge through the field to finish fifth, after starting 12th.

Lindsey racer Steve Rando led the opening laps of the Fremont Federal Credit Union 305 sprint feature before being passed by front row mate Dustin Stroup.  Paul Weaver would supplant Rando for second and would take the lead on lap 15, but a caution would negate his pass.  It would take Weaver six more laps to find a line around Stroup for the win.  Stroup held onto second over Jamie Miller, Rando, and 11th starting Tyler Shullick.

Three drivers took their turn at the front of the Dirt Truck feature.  Cody Truman would lead the opening lap before RJ Cornett took control for the next handful of laps.  Jamie Miller would then take the lead after starting 8th.  The battle behind Miller was often three wide before Cory McCaughey, Jim Holcomb, Brad Stuckey, and Keith Sorg settled into the remaining top five positions.

Fremont Speedway will be back in action Tuesday, Aug. 24 to help kick off the Sandusky County Fair, with the NAPA of Bryan 305 Attica Fremont Championship Series in action.



The Press

The Press
1550 Woodville Road
Millbury, OH 43447

(419) 836-2221

Email Us

Facebook Twitter

Ohio News Media Association