Clay inducts six of its best athletes into hall of fame

Press Sports Staff

The Clay High School Athletic Hall of Fame inducted Justin Wharton (Class of 2009) and Nick Tammerine (2010) into the Class of 2020 inductees and Jesse Castilleja (2011), Eryn Simon (2010), Nick Garcia (2010) and Meghan Scharer (2010) into its Class of 2021.

Justin Wharton was a first team All-Ohio wrestler (2009) and two-time state qualifier (2008, 2009). He was a three-time sectional champion (2007-09), two-time league champion (2008, 2009) and league runner-up in 2006. He was a four-time letter winner.

“Justin’s passion for the sport and dogged determination were very contagious and helped usher in the longest sustained period of excellence in Clay wrestling history,” states his HOF bio. “His desire to continually challenge himself and his teammates helped raise the standards on the team and in the program.”

In football, Nick Tammerine was the school record holder in career rushing yards, career carries, career TDs and career points scored, and a three-time letterman. He won two letters in wrestling and four in track, where all four years he led the team in points and was the school record holder in the 200 meter dash, 400-meter dash, and with the 4x100 and 4x400 relay teams.

“Nick was an exceptionally gifted athlete with an intensely competitive spirit,” stated his bio. “He was up for any challenge and was unwilling to concede anything.  His drive to succeed fueled his career as a three-sport athlete.”

In his junior year on the baseball field, Jesse Castilleja hit his way to first team all-league and, in his senior year, he pitched his way to first team all-league, all-district, and All-Ohio.

“Jesse developed a tough-minded attitude as a wrestler and he carried that with him on the baseball diamond where he excelled as a two-way player,” his bio stated.

In softball, Eryn Simon was first team All-Ohio (2009, 2010), first team all-district and all-league (2008-10) and Toledo City League Player of the Year in 2010. In soccer, Simon was first team all-league in 2008 and 2009, second team all-league in 2007, second team all-district in 2008 and 2009 and honorable mention all-league in 2006. In both softball and soccer, she was team captain her junior and senior years.

“Eryn enjoyed a terrific two-sport career at Clay. She was a gifted athlete who had a strong work ethic and was very coachable — highly respected player and teammate,” her bio stated.

In wrestling, Nick Garcia was a two-time first team All-Ohioan (2009, 2010), three-time league champion (2008-10) and three-year letter winner.

“Having never wrestled before, Nick first stepped foot on the mat as a freshman. Fiercely competitive, powerful, and determined, he quickly developed into a dominant force,” Garcia’s bio stated. “By the time his career ended, Nick’s accomplishments placed him in the upper echelon of Clay’s storied wrestling program.”

Meghan Scharer earned 14 varsity letters during her career at Clay, including four in soccer, two in cross country, four in basketball, and four in track and field. Her soccer team was the Northwest Ohio Scholastic Soccer League and sectional champions in 2007 and 2008. She was named NWOSSL Player of the Year in 2008 and 2009. 

Scharer was a regional qualifier in cross country in 2006. In track, she was a regional finalist in the 300 hurdles in 2007 and 2009, and in pole vault in 2009 and 2010. She was a district champion in the pole vault in 2009. 

Additionally, in soccer Scharer was first team all-league from 2007-09, first team all-district and second team All-Ohio in 2008 and 2009. She was first team All-City League in cross country in 2006 and 2007, and in basketball she was HM All-City her first three years, Special Mention her senior year, and HM all-district in 2009-10. In track, she was first team All-City her senior year.

Scharer was the City League scholar athlete representative for Clay High School and was awarded Clay’s Leta Wescott Outstanding Student Athlete Award her senior year. The Leta Wescott Award is the most prestigious award and is presented to a female athlete based on leadership, attitude, sportsmanship, value to the team, commitment, and grade point average.

After graduating from Clay, Scharer attended the University of Dayton where she earned four varsity letters in soccer. She was named team captain in 2012 and 2013 and earned second team All-Atlantic 10 honors in 2013. She was awarded the Stacy Martin Memorial Award in 2012 and 2013 by her teammates for leadership on and off the field.

Also honored was 2019-20 All-Ohio soccer player Rylee Clark and three 2020-21 All-Ohioans—Tyler Cobb (wrestling), Abram Hagedorn (swimming) and Micah Medina (wrestling).











The Press

The Press
1550 Woodville Road
Millbury, OH 43447

(419) 836-2221

Email Us

Facebook Twitter

Ohio News Media Association